Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:36 - 16.11.06
cakes and ail
Tsunami warnings for our left coast, four storey buildings being blown down and nearer to home gale force winds. Happy November.

All five cats were huddled on my bed when I arrived home this evening. They are struggling with being left alone for some reason. It isn't as though I have been a permanent fixture in the home for well over a decade. I guess it is because my youngest was rarely far from petting range for them. Makes me feel guilty all the same. Both my daughter-in-law and I had near pedestrian car encounters in the same crosswalk today. Both of us were crossing with the light and were midway through when some idiot driver decided that their left turn took precedence over our physical presence on the street. Fines for that start at $1200 even if one doesn't hit anyone. The vehicle that nearly took me out this morning was different than the one that almost hit me yesterday. This time it was one of those little quarter ton affairs with the "doghouse" on the back. I'm not certain how my bus drivers will react if I do bring one of my old hiking sticks with me but the temptaion is there. My daughter-in-law had her close encounter this evening and her description matched the one of the car that nearly took me out yesterday. Maybe another avenue of action would be for both of us to call the police traffic division to ask for a car to monitor that crosswalk for a while.

It was chilly this morning despite the weather forecast yesterday. I had opted to wear my warmer clothes and was glad for that. It isn't cold enough yet where passengers huddle together for warmth but the woman who sat beside me on the train seemed to think that she should dig her elbows into my body. I had my eyes closed by the time she boarded the train a stop later on, so I didn't see her until we arrived in the downtown. She presented as much bigger than her actual very petite size. I had chosen one of the three-person benches right by the door and was tucked up tight in the corner as soon as I sat down. I'm not all that big myself and I keep my appendages all tucked in tight so I don't use excess space. I'm not certain what her problem was, but she seemed to be looking for someone to take some frustration out on. Keeping my eyes shut was my way of avoiding any escalation of the issue. The connector bus was already at the traffic light when I ran up to the crosswalk. The driver already had the doo to the bus open before I was halfway across and smiled as I popped up onto the bus. I am always amazed at how quickly they recognize and look after their regular fares. Nice to know he has "adopted" me.

My granddaughter was teething today so we both had a low key morning with lots of cuddling instead of playtime. She doesn't mind me brushing her hair out and enjoyed playing along with the comb as her weapon of choice. I expect at some point she'll get her revenge by combing out my hair as part of play time. I did call the one tardy staff member about their assignment. He seems really frustrated about something in his life right now. He's the same age as one of my guys so it's hard not to fall into parent mode. Not my right or responsibility to intervene. However I do need to get that work wrapped up and he promised to have his material in to me by tomorrow. Hope that happens. I'm not overly fond of the disciplinarian role and I think in this case it would do more harm than good any way. Don't know. Not much else to talk about tonight so good night dear diary. A demain.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats