Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:20 - 06.11.06
Shake down
Some of my dreams are precognitive. Sometimes they are descriptive of the circumstances down to the details, while other times there is a lot of symbolism that needs to be decoded before the meaning can be discerned. This morning I had one of the symbolic ones. It was so insistent that I pay attention and take away the message immediately that I was woken at 6 in the am, even though there was no reason for me to get up so early. Or so I thought. The dream was about an imminent earthquake in the city. It was so vivid that I could see, hear, smell, and feel the effects. Move over Disneyland. My first reaction was that if I was going to die in such an event, I would prefer it to happen while I was still asleep in my nice, soft, warm bed. Don't wake me, just take me dear lord. No sense of humour from the dream though. There was a sense of urgency about it that required immediate resolution. I could feel the answer to the puzzle set for me on the edge of my awareness, but couldn't bring it any further forward in to this reality. Messed around on some websites looking for clues.

My youngest had mentioned that my oldest son thought that they would have my oldest grandson's birthday party today, just after lunch. With that as a possibility, I decided that while I was waiting for the message to make it's way through my skull, I would go do my banking and grocery shopping for the week. Needed wrapping paper, since what I had in the house was deemed not acceptable by my youngest. Whatever. At the bank I put my credit card in the ATM and keyed in my requirements. That screen seemed to grind on forever. Then it said that there was a problem with the machine and that I should try later. There are two ATMs in that bank. When I had arrived there were two men doing their banking and me. By the time I got that error message from the machine I was at, a line-up had formed that now consisted of five people including me. I had to go to the back of the other line you see. As I joined the other group, one woman mentioned that this was the second branch of that particular bank that she had visited because the ATMs at the other were all malfunctioning. The second lady piped up that she had already tried three of this banks' other branches and all their ATMs were out of service too. Oh dear. We were all in that precarious postion where we knew we had money, but all of us need cash for different purposes. For example, the one lady was moving and the movers would only take cash. They were sitting in front of her new house with her furniture locked in their van. She wanted her furniture, thank you very much. She was just ahead of me in line. When her turn came the ATM ground on for what seemed like forever. It finally spit out the cash she needed. She wished me luck with my second try as she was walking out the door. At that point the ground actually seemed to be moving - earthquaking. I guessed that the message in my dream was to take action at once or an earth shattering series of misadventures might ensue. You see in addition to really needing to pick up groceries, I also had bills to pay that are due tomorrow. The kind that one dares not miss. Oh my. I needed to transfer cash from one account to the other to facilitate the payment. I didn't even contemplate the mess it would make of my finances. I just began to pray for very pragmatic help. Dear lord please make this ATM work for me. I was as sincere as a down and out gambler in Vegas I think, but without having chosen to find myself in such a tenuous situation. Again that machine ground on for what seemed like forever. Finally it spit out that cash and I quickly deposited it in the other account hoping that machine wouldn't close out before I was done. Made it through alright.

Headed off to the grocery store thanking whatever guardian had created such a distubing dream for me that I couldn't go back to bed. I suspect that if I had slept in as long as I had intended I would likely have been out of luck in terms of getting any cash. Without a vehicle I wouldn't have been able to travel around the city like the other women in line had done until I could find a working ATM. The staff at banks don't work on Sunday you see, so one couldn't even go to a teller's line for service. My next concern was whether that meant that bank's debit card service was also involved. I did have my credit card with me, but I didn't want to use it. Fortunately the transaction rang through ok. Also fortunate was the fact I had held back some cash. You see, I hopped into the cab after loading my groceries into the trunk. The sign on the dash board stated that the debit machine was not working. Cash only. I asked the driver how many of their terminals were down. He said about 90%. There was a retooling going on. What if I had had to wait until one of those cabs was free. Glad I listened to that dream, otherwise the day would have been one disaster after another I think.

Got home and was feeling really nauseous. Decided that I wouldn't disgrace myself by trying to attend the children's pizza party. Just what the birthday child needs, eh? Grandma vomiting at the restaurant. I wrapped the gifts while my youngest got ready to head out. Apparently my grandson loved all of them. I spent the balance of the day doing laundry, housework and preparation for the week ahead. My youngest didn't return home until 9:30 in the pm. Apparently the party travelled to several different play places. I was very thankful I hadn't tried to join in. I doubt I would have been able to get everything I had managed to complete in nine hours done in the three left this evening. That would have made tomorrow morning a nightmare too, when I need to be up at 5:30 in the am to catch that sequence of busses to my son's home. I had also called or emailed the three staff whose assignments were still incomplete. Talked directly with two and extracted promises to all have their material by the end of the day. I'm already long out of hours for me for that assignment and I really don't have the time to hold their hands now that I am spending so much time away from home looking after my granddaughter. Nor should I have to for that matter. Time for bed now, but even though that dream was a life saver in so many ways I still hope I don't have another for a while. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats