Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:37 - 25.10.06
backwards
The day started out well enough. Abbott and Costello up for breakfast. I thought my guys would enjoy it as they prepared for work. Each was running a bit late so their attention was focussed elsewhere. My eldest left and my instincts told me to check the local news. A bicyclist tried to take on the train and lost. Meant the system was closed down while police did their work. My oldest takes two busses to his first job but my youngest needs the train. Called a cab for him so he could make his shift.

I had a fairly nasty headache so I crawled back in to bed for a bit to get it under control. I love working at home. If only I got paid on time I would be quite content. Woke up a bit later and started making more phone calls. The staff I've recruited for the one job are a bit slow with respect to their paperwork. It wouldn't bother me except that it is used as another reason to hold back my pay. It was like pulling teeth with two of them. The one person and I are going to have to work at communicating better I think. They still hadn't checked their email for the instructions I had sent a week ago. They allowed that they should have had their forms filled out last week when I dropped by to pick them up but that doesn't help me now. The newest recruit hadn't really looked at any of the material either. Grumble. Although it seems silly contacting all three today took several hours because of conflicting schedules.

I finally gave up and went outside intending to rake up the last of the leaves from my sundance tree. My oldest had glued that broken item together last night you see and I was looking forward to some physical exercise. No such luck. Two pulls and the head of the rake fell off. The glue was still really soggy - no chance of making a dent in the work today. Decided to try getting all the invoices for Elections Canada done but then the phone started to ring incessantly. The invoices for my assistant, outreach staff and me all take a lot of time because we have to track the work by the day, hour and task. Finicky and it requires more concentration than I could muster. Decided to start supper - lasagna tonight to take the chill off for my guys when they came home. Went back to the comupter then realized the house was filling with smoke. Turns out there was a baked potato from a previous dinner hidden at the very back of the oven. It carbonized and looked as though it was about to explode. Because of where the computer sits I hadn't realized what was happening until there was a houseful of smoke. The cats were not impressed. Nor was I for that matter. And so it went for the rest of the evening. I felt a bit like the comic character Sadsack who always seemed to have one misadventure after another. I don't know what the message from the great unknown was supposed to be, but crawling into bed and pulling the covers over my head seemed like a good choice. Didn't manage that either though so I think I'll try it now and hope tomorrow is more productive. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats