Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:10 - 24.10.06
AUM
Meditation was the theme of the day. Not by choice but by need. When I had been writing to you last night dear diary, my youngest had wandered in with what seemed to be an urgent need to know the astrological conditions of a particular day a while back. I was a bit startled because he rarely shows much interest in my avocation other than to rag me about my strange pastime from time to time. I was also thrown by the urgency of the questions. When I checked there had been a sun/Uranus opposition just after a Pluto direct motion. Add in those aspects all affected his birth planets directly and yes it would have an effect. He seemed to need me to demonstrate that I could read the impact without being told the circumstances. I suggested a release of personal power and a freeing from restrictions - psychological - through the Pluto aspect and a revelation or epiphany of some description through the planetary opposition. He stated that my assessment was correct. Hmmm. He still wouldn't tell me anything further about it but I asked if it had to do with the one movie he went to - The Wicker Man. Yes it did. He has been talking a lot about spiritual practices and beliefs and how they relate to his own perception of the world so I'm guessing that the movie opened a door that had been jammed shut in his subconscious. He had said he found the movie "disturbing" when he returned home from it the evening he attended. Given the type of things he watches on a regular basis it would have to be something quite out of the ordinary to have him react that way. If one follows that logic in psychosomatic analysis the teeth represent power in a worldly sense. An abscessed tooth might be the body's way of gaining treatment for an "infection" or poisonous state affecting one's perception of power and how it is being wielded. Hmmmm.

Next hum had to do with the headmaster in the Harry Potter stories. Albus Dumbledore. JK Rowling often uses names as a way to convey a lot of information about a character in her writing. I've already explored two of his middle names; "Wulfric" as it relates to the tale of Beowulf and "Perceval" as it relates to the Holy Grail. The word albus is latin and means white. White magic and part of the alchemical process of turning lead to gold. Dumbledore is an old English term for bumblebee or Dor Beetle - the Egyptian scarab beetle that was most sacred in their mythology. It represented transformation and resurrection at the deepest level. Interestingly enough, when one searches the term "white bee" on the internet, the results first indicate the flower Delphinium or Larkspur. It indicates that the tongue or heart of the five petaled flower is white. This is an official flower of the month of July - JKR and Harry's birth month. In the herbal practices of the Middle Ages the root of the male delphinium fern was a basic ingredient in love potions. As the character Dumbledore mentioned often, love is the most powerful thing in the universe. The other use of larkspur was to ward off or treat the bites of scorpions and the powdered form of delphinium was used as an antibacterial packing during the civil war in the US. Anti- venom or antidote. One Italian myth tells of three knights who slay a very dangerous dragon. Upon wiping their swords on the grass to clean them of the dragon's blood, the blue blood of the dragon turns into the flower delphinium. Dumbledore is credited with determining the twelve uses of dragons' blood, which is likely to figure prominently in book seven along with the use of the venom of the acromantula. The Greeks believed that the delphinium was a form of the dolphin and was a gift from Neptune. Although it hasn't manifested yet in the story line, dolphins play a powerful part in many myths and belief systems. The final given name for Dumbledore is Brian. It would be possible to speculate, since all three actors offered that role were of Irish descent, that Brian refers to Brian Boru - the last High King of Ireland. A rumour that he had a large secret army is what helped bring allies to him with whom he then defeated and drove out the Vikings who had taken over the island.

In a more mundane sense there were these revelations too. Problems with the electronic voting machine - the code leaked. If I actually get paid before Christmas for all the pre-election work I've done - another reason for meditation and prayer since nothing else seems to help with being treated fairly - this resource for traditional Scottish recipes is going to get a workout. I can remember helping my grandmother make these but her recipes were lost to me long ago. I've mentioned in earlier posts that it wasn't considered cooking or baking unless there was a lot of butter, cream, eggs and sugar in the mix. I'd forgotten - or wasn't shown - about the addition of whiskey or brandy to most dishes. No wonder we didn't mind eating all those nice cruciferous veggies. It might also explain the hardiness of those mountain Scots, fortified as they were with whiskey mixed in their morning porridge. Humm again. It used to be a tradition that part of a Christmas gift would be comprised of some of the best of those recipes. Maybe I'll try that for my sons and sibs. Instead of natural ingredients cancer researchers are going to look more carefully at chemical clones of mother nature to see what part they play in the increases in the disease. These comments from the Egyptian President were enlightening too. It seems Ms Kitty's concern about air traffic over our home might have stemmed from the more active role that British jets are taking in the airspace over us. Curious. Elvis is alive and running for office in the Yukon and where different languages are spoken in Canada. New forms of quarks show themselves too. Also new is more writing from Farley Mowat. The males in my family love his work and I do too. speaking of sons my youngest is telling me it's time to pack it in for the night so I guess I'd better get to bed. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats