Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:18 - 21.10.06
retrograde
Yesterday a woman arrived a-knocking at the door. She had been by the night before but I hadn't heard the noise in time to catch her. Probably a good thing. My youngest answered the door the second visit. She was on her own and stated quite shrilly that she was a volunteer. She said in a hard tone that she was making certain that she delivered this message personally. My son was just on his way to work after his visit with the dentist so even though she seemed to want to engage him in a longer discussion he just politely told her he had to go and closed the door. Handed the tact to me with a bemused look on his face. Who was she representing. Looked at the publication column and realized it was one of the more unique fundamentalist Christian groups. One of the ones who think Hallowe'en is the devils' day. Poor Celtic New Year - it has been given such a bad rap. I explained where it came from and that it was likely those stencilled bags that drew that person to our door. Our Charter of Rights gives her every right to practice her faith, but it also forbids forcing it on someone else. The literature could almost be seen as promoting hate against an identifiable group since it condemned us celts to h*** for our heritage. However, since we do have that charter I think I'll just ignore the ignorance. Imagine attacking one's neighbours because of a difference in beliefs. They're called that because they aren't provable either way. Why not deal with real live boogie men. The kind that walk on two legs and hurt other people in the name of whatever. Samhain - All Souls Night is a reconciliation with the dead and a night of prayer y'all. It doesn't threaten anyone except those who have no faith in their own beliefs.

Today was productive. Before sending in my assignment I wanted to have a look at the physical development of the new communities. I'd seen it on the city maps on-line and the census data but I don't like leaving anything to chance. Good thing. My assistant came by just after 9 am. We drove the new areas for 4 hours just toiling by all the new streets. I had underestimated a couple of areas considerably. No indication on the city maps of major apartment complexes in two of the areas. A lot of the empty serviced lots we looked at a year ago were now filled with homes - most with Hallowe'en decorations covering their yards. Should have taken that dedicated canvasser with us so she could threaten their souls too. Failing that we had a quick lunch at a new Chinese restaurant in the one high growth area. By the lunchtime crowd it was obvious it was well liked by the locals. We had the buffet like most of the other diners. Not quite hot enough in terms of serving temperature but every bit of it was delicious. We also stopped at the car wash before heading home since the nice white van was covered with mud. Most of the streets we travelled were under construction too you see. Spent the evening tweaking the changes and updates that I had already done. Gives me a bit of peace of mind that little road trip. Hope Ottawa likes it too. I'll be mailing it off later today when I've had that one last check over to make certain all the i's are dotted and the t's are crossed you see. I had to wait up for my youngest to get home = he had transportation problems which is why this post is so late. I'll tell you about the planet Mercury crossing in front of the sun tomorrow - with graphics too. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats