Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:15 - 19.10.06
Star Wars
I was watching the movie Beetlejuice a few nights back while doing my regular housework/cooking routine. I don't know what it is about the story, but it still entertains me greatly each time I see it. At the time it was produced - sometime in the '80's - it was unique in being not a horror show, but yet Hallowe'en themed for adults and children alike. It scared the Dickens out of most of the generation that included my parents. I think that was because it touched on all those taboo issues they had around death in a way that was like fingernails on a chalkboard. Sort of the same effect that "The Corpse Bride" has on a lot of people from my generation now. Personally I enjoyed exploring those nooks and crannies in societal group think - bringing them to light so they aren't as intimidating any more. It is amazing too to watch Michael Keaton as the catalyst in the movie. The other thing I realized the other evening is that it is the movie where the current concept of the Goth Maiden, in the character of Lydia, was first really explored. I was always really pleased that instead of being portrayed as unbalanced or a freak, she was allowed to play the role as of someone really committed to her own perspective of reality even though it is out of synch with almost everyone around her. Everyone living that is. Hmmmmm.

During Ramadan, there is one night that is considered the most powerful in having one's prayers heard. The 27th day of Ramadan is when the first revelations were made that initiated the faith of Islam. It is called the Night of Power - Lailat Al-Qadr. Depending on when one counts the beginning of Ramadan, that is either the 19th or 20th of October this year. There are a number of young adults from the Middle East who are participating and blogging about their experiences of the faith and the culture surrounding the activities in Mecca and Medinah. If one is curious about the heart of the faith, this might be an avenue through which one can gain an understanding.

I was a bit bemused by some of the news stories today. This take on Canadian politics through the eyes of one of China's news outlets was fascinating. These comments from one of the developers of breast cancer screening should give every female pause. Their in-depth long-term knowledge of the outcomes demands more respect than more recent promoters. I was really encouraged that Silicon Valley companies were planning to pursue development of green options. Their ability to think outside the box might be the kick start that is needed to make some of the alternatives more affordable and portable as well. My favorite innovation from Canada's public broadcaster was this "Diversions" site. Then there is this debate about genetics that has me buffaloed - or moosed, if one wants to be precise. Transportation and driving ability was a major issue today too. A 60 car pile-up in this city just because of a bit of snow is a bit much.

My work day started where it had ended last night. The voicemail I had left for the tech support team at Elections Canada resulted in a callback first thing this morning. They had had a system wide crash and the caller thought that might be what caused my problem. My troubles started much later in the day than the crash and I think had something to do with the network access point that had been inserted on to my personal pc from their headquarters. When I realized it was there, I removed it. I don't really mind if they want to monitor my personal system as seems to be the case I guess, but I would appreciate them having the courtesy to inform me first. In effect if I am correct in my interpretation of what appeared in "My Network Places", it's no different than a wiretap, only monitoring one's computer instead of one's phone. I have nothing to hide, but the lack of respect for the existing federal legislation is what bothers me.

After the connectivity issue was dealt with, I emailed some updated material to the local rep, who responded that she couldn't open the attachments. Since her computer was trying to open an xls document as a web page I'm guessing that the crash at headquarters isn't fully dealt with yet. Seems to me it was this time last year - and the year before - that sustained hacking attacks on our systems occurred. Those are the two times that some of my email was toasted - remember dear diary? Went on with my geography work - today mobile polls was the first order of business, but the mapping continued too. "Almost there" said Han Solo as they neared the Death Star. However I'm not. I have to go finish up some laundry, so my youngest has all his wardrobe for work tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats