Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:47 - 15.10.06
contact
I have a seeing-auras migraine, dear diary, so this post is going to be short. Actually the same headache has been on-going for over a week, but the weather shifting back and forth seemed to be the cause. I don't know what ramped it up yesterday and today.

Ms Kitty must be feeling something similar. Yesterday I was doing some writing for my assignment around the supper hour. We live, as you know, not far from our airport, so it is normal to hear airplanes flying overhead in a regular pattern. At one point I glanced up to where Ms Kitty camps on the monitor when I'm working. Her ears were pulled back and there was an odd grimace on her face as though she was frightened. Her eyes were wide and yellow. She was in that posture of intense listening, as though a predator was near by. Her head and ears seemed to follow the sound of the one airplane engine that was passing by our home. I began to wonder if I should call the airport to ask them to check the mechanical integrity of the plane that just landed, but decided that I'd just be labelled as a nutter if I did. Still bothers me though. Ms Kitty is very deliberate and dignified in her ways. She doesn't play at much being the grandmother of the tribe. If she shows that degree of vigilence it is for a reason. I just wish she could tell me what she was sensing.

Today all the cats were a little disturbed, but this time the reason was obvious. Number four son asked if he and his wife could come by for a visit. I had been planning to go for groceries, so they picked me up from the store on their way to my place. The cats were pleased with the new bag of kibble and the clean litter, but one of the other bundles we brought in foxed them all - even the unflappable Ms Kitty. You see they brought their son - my grandbaby - who has just turned two weeks old. The cats don't recall meeting such a creature apparently. It was obvious from their stealthy approaches, that they were trying to size up the nature of the new critter in the living room. Obviously not another cat or kitten - that at least brought down the arching in the backs. Not a squirrel or d-o-g, nor any other critter which haunts our sundance tree.

While the baby was nursing they calmed down to indifference, but got all fussed again when it came time for grandmother to cuddle with her little one. Each cat approached with big eyes and tentative mews, as they pawed at my lap asking if they could still climb up for pets, as is their wont. What was that thing that had displaced them? I finally sat on the floor with the bsby cradled in my arms, when Ms Kitty showed distress at my desertion of her fine self. Held that grandbaby in the crook of my arm so she could sniff him out. He seemed to realize that he was being assessed, because he started to stretch and flex. Ms Kitty gave him the sniff test checking out his ears,his face, and his hands. She seemed comfortable that the tiny parcel was human and therefore acceptable. She still was not certain why it was cuddled up on her "mom's" shoulder when it belonged to the other mom - my son's wife.

At that point, the young master realized that he wasn't nursing and also that from where he sat there was no chance of getting another feed either. He started to fuss and then to wail, calling for his mama. The cats fled apace, seeming to fear being blamed for setting off that little siren. I passed my grandson back to his mom, where he happily chowed down for the second time since arriving. Not long after she, the baby and my son left. My son is really stressed out by the upcoming criuse, but his poor wife just looks exhausted. She did say that she was happy to be able to get back into her pre-pregnancy jeans, but that suggests that she is burning off the calories too quickly to sustain the milk production that little guy is demanding over the longer term. They seem to be coping very well with their new little one, but all the other demands being placed on them is really tiring them out. It was obvious they both needed to get some sleep even though the sun still was still in the sky.

Saw them out the door, then went to find the cats. They were all cuddled up in a heap on my bed. Pretending to sleep they were, but watching me as though afraid of my next move all the same. Apparently the presence of that one little human, crying away in their domain, scared and exhausted them as well. Took the rest of the evening to reassure them that they were still loved and that they weren't going to be sent away to make space for that new human. Now that they've regained their strut and swagger, I guess it's time for me to sleep off the stress of the day too. Maybe that will get rid of the migraine. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats