Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:54 - 05.10.06
preparation
When I was waiting for my sister's sister-in-law to come by the first day, I stood in my front yard clearing up some of the fallen branches from my sundance tree. When that was done I just leaned up against my old friend enjoying the sun and the fresh air. In that time a lady bug decided to befriend me. First she was crawling on the placket of my shirt. Picked her off and put her in the well of the tree thinking it would protect her. Glanced down shortly after only to find the same girl crawling up the back of my hand trying to reach the sleeve of my shirt. That happened twice more. Each time I would put her on a nice sunny spot on that tree and yet she would return again. Decided to give in to the superstition and make a wish. Can't hurt can it? After that, on the last encounter, I explained that I was trying to find a safe spot for her where the crows wouldn't find her in for dinner - her being an appetizer, you see. After that she flew off on her own. I think there were four spots on her back, so we'll see if my wish happens in any of those time frames - days, weeks, months.

I got a response from the contact in Elections Canada today about my missing "box of goodies" as he called it. It is sitting over in the postal outlet. Hmmmm. Interestingly enough, there was a "pick up" card left in my mailbox around the lunch hour too. Guess that's an errand I shouldn't leave too long. I also heard from my sister's sister-in-law last evening and this afternoon. She was finally able to find a signal where she was staying, strong enough so she could log in to her internet. She had managed to open her email and save some of the new links I had promised to provide for her. The one link she deleted, because she thought it wasn't safe, was the one from the IT magazine explaining at a beginner level about maintaining security on one's computer. Re-sent it for her after we finished talking. She is still busy packing up her personal possessions from her mom's for the final move to her new home on the island. It is taking her a lot longer than she thought, but it is the first time in a long time that I think she has committed herself to a location in many years. That is a good sign for her, I think. She had taken her mom around shopping as well, for things she has a hard time dealing with on her own, then also did her own personal shopping. She declared she hated malls and would be very happy not to see one again for a long time. She seems to be getting in a lot of quality visiting time with her family in between all that, so I guess the trip can be considered a success on many levels.

After we finished talking I logged on to the internet for my own afternoon of research. After the discussion I had with the one neighbour yesterday, I decided to try and find some possible ways to deal with the troublesome neighbours. Read the traffic act and parking regulations on the city police website and then cruised through the municipal government's website. It isn't user friendly when details are required. Since the current mayor has been in place it has gotten even more difficult. I finally found a page of links to all the bylaws and omnibus legislation that is pertinent and spent the next few hours reading and cross-referencing the documents for solutions. The one definitive bit I did locate was that the landlord cannot convert the duplexes to quarter plexes, because they don't meet the street frontage nor lot area requirements. Not only that, but bylaws are enforced based on the year that a building was constructed. Some of the activities we have witnessed are not allowed under the regulations for that period of time. That includes the excess of vehicles used by those residents. What I couldn't find was the parking specifications that I know were in place for that decade. If we need to though, we can apply to get copies of them from the archives department. It doesn't really change anything in the short term, but finding that we are on solid ground with the legislation and do have some recourse made me feel better. There are a few more sources that I want to scan, then I think I'll make up an information package for each of the good neighbours. That way maybe we can get together and brainstorm solutions after everyone has had a chance to read everything over.

Just finished reading as much as I could stand of the developerese, when I realized my youngest was likely just getting off work. Called him and arranged to meet him over at the drug store so we could shop for Hallowe'en fixings. Good thing, since they were already sold out of some articles. One of the other reasons for a shopping trip was to buy the stencilled garbage bags so I can fill them up with leaves from my sundance tree, both to clean up my yard and create that spooky theme as well. Happy Celtic New Year, y'all.

My youngest had stopped at a video store on the way to meet me, so the next order of business while I was making dinner for him, was to watch the newly released X-men movie. I couldn't keep all the characters straight and my youngest said it really didn't follow the written storyline from the comic book series. I wouldn't know one way or another about that aspect, but I understand his frustration with the screenwriters. I still am upset with some of the editing that was done of the Lord of the Rings series, even though I realize the challenge it must have been. It is just that when significant themes are removed, it diminishes the impact and value of the story for me. I'm hoping the next Harry Potter film will not be gutted like the last one. I know that it won several awards for the production, but it still was diminshed to just another action film for youth instead of including the significant character development of the main players over the course of that book. Oh well.

Talked with numbers two and four son about their respective offspring - my youngest grand-daughter and grandson. My granddaughter is teething and diaper rash is becoming an issue. That's a common problem, especially as new foods are being introduced to her diet too. I was allowed to indulge in reminiscences about my sons as babies as I offered a number of strategies both with the diet and the teething and all it's manifestations. With number four son, he was just detailing the end of their hospital experience and what was going on with the new baby. That little guy and my grand-daughter were squawking and squeaking until their Dads put the phone up to their ears so I could talk to them. Both settled down right away, with my grand-daughter trying to talk back I think. See grandmothers are good for lots of things. Those little ones fell asleep after I talked with them and I think maybe I should do the same after "talking" with you. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats