Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:08 - 03.09.06
Dance as though no one is watching
The cats have been really clingy the past couple of weeks. I can't take a step but at least one is wrapped around my ankles. When I sit, there is at least one on my lap. When I try to sleep, all five are curled up with me on my bed. I keep wondering what it is that they know that I don't. It makes writing to you quite an adventure as well.

The one friend whose son died mid-August emailed me today. She talked about the last few days of her son's life. Mostly about the rituals that had helped her get through it. Not being Catholic I likely missed a lot of the nuances and tacit understandings shared by a community of faith, but all that really mattered to me was that she found comfort and could start to move through her grief to healing in time. Maybe that should be the measure of whether a faith reflects at least a portion of a higher power. When it builds and heals it is of a higher power, when it breaks down and damages anyone in it's environment, then it has nothing to do with the nature of the divine. Where is the love? The cry of the 60's, that was perverted into so many other things by the time we reached the end of the century.

Last night didn't really end until this morning. You see my youngest and his buddy went out to play in the downtown last night. They caught the last train of the night home. His buddy is going through a long distance break-up with a young woman. Beer plus lateness plus whatever meant he had a meltdown halfway home. For whatever reason they decided to get off the train about halfway home. The station they chose is one of the most dangerous in the northern route. Daylight assaults and thefts are not unusual. So what were they thinking. I was sitting at this keyboard and writing when I had a bad feeling around 1:30 in the am. Called my son just after he got off the train and had calmed his buddy down. They were trying to figure out how they were going to get the rest of the way home. Cabs won't willingly pick travellers up at the train stops late at night and there are no public buildings around that area. At least none that are still used. Wide open fields and old broken down derelicts that the city has chosen not to deal with for some reason. I suggested that they head for somewhere that was a lot safer and where a cab could pick them up. Walking home along the highway that runs by that place was not much safer you see. My son told me, when he finally arrived home after 3 in the am, that he got my message loud and clear just after we hung up from that first conversation. He had been walking one way trying to get his bearings at the train station then turned to walk in the opposite direction with his buddy after talking to me. He realized at that point that they were being followed by a male who had obviously been trying to get closer without their knowing he was there. They hot-footed it to a mall about a mile or two away and called some cab companys. The earliest that any of them could provide a ride was about an hour later. Oi. At least he got home in one piece.

Today was more election work. Spent more time researching a couple of queries from my friend in the Middle East, then relayed the information back to her. Quite often she finds sites that she wants to use blocked, often for no discernable reason. Of the sites that she hasn't been able to access one was a teachers' information website of which she is a member. The other one she mentioned was the mighty Amazon website. She was looking for a book to send as a gift to her family in England. Nothing seditious about that, that I can think of.

I have another busy day planned for tomorrow and I also just received a new exercise tape. It was on sale for $8 and it is a bhangra dance workout. I tried it last night when I needed something to keep my mind occupied while waiting for my youngest to work out his transportation woes. Lucky no one could see me trying to dance like that, but then again the wisdom is to "dance as though no one is watching". Right dear diary? I have a lot more respects for those Sardars on the one Gurdas Maan video now though. It isn't anywhere near as easy as they make it look.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats