Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:28 - 24.08.06
Interviews
This job posting was interesting, but I don't think I have all the skill sets necessary - the hard wired part. I did have a job interview first thing this morning though, dear diary. The company's offices are located on the opposite side of the city, so I took a cab so I wouldn't get lost and would be guaranteed to be on time as well. Booked that the night before realizing that I would need some help from someone who actually calculates the time-distance factor for a living to determine when I should be picked up. I had already tried using the "new and improved" transit trip planning site, but it was really unwieldy and frustrating to use. From what was shown on their pages, it appeared I would have to allow at least two hours travel time to be certain I got there - provided I didn't get lost. I emailed their customer service to let them know that their radical change to the trip planning features allows one to find half the information in twice the time. No one else who uses it, that I know, likes it either. It feels as though one is being manipulated to choose options that the transit bosses prefer to market over what one actually needs. On the other hand, the time for a cab - 45 minutes and we arrived 15 minutes early. The cost? Don't ask. It was a good thing I had arrived early though. The agency rep that had sent me hadn't confirmed my appointment and they had given me a name that was close, but incorrect enough for the receptionist to wonder if I was at the correct company.

I called the agency and the supervisor of the woman I was dealing with responded to me. She hadn't yet arrived for the day, I guess. I had to wait for some time and, at a guess, I believe the agency supervisor had to do some fast talking to smooth things over first. The interviewer was a very interesting lady once she arrived to meet with me. The interview took over an hour and her only qualm seemed to be my availability. If an election is called as threatened next month, by the Canada Elections Act, the CEO can refuse to release me from the contract. That after getting that e-mail about the possible termination of all ROs if that new bill is passed. If parliament reconvenes and then dissolves for an election that bill will die on the order paper. Can't win for losing can I? I explained that I would likely not know the timing for certain as to when I could be available for another two weeks. She mentioned that she wanted her core team set up now. I was very tempted to take the position that seemed to be offered and just let EC fend for itself, but what if I was forced by a court order to go administer an early call? Decided to give that careful thought, so I don't mess myself up in both assignments. I think I would really enjoy this company for several reasons. Lots of training and challenges offered, an international presence in 35 countries, and the opportunity to work on some fascinating projects. Not even a quibble about the wage either. The interviewer did ask if I could and would be able to stand up to workplace bullies in order to do my job within the parameters of due diligence. Interesting question, but it seemed to be more an issue of some staff feeling that their word as a "professional" could over-ride things such as laws. You know how I stand on that dear diary. There is nothing professional about breaking the law - especially in this industry. Put that one in the prayer queue, asking for help sorting that one out.

Walked back across one of our major highways to the next district over to catch the train. The connections to the other train and the bus to my community were seamless, but it was over an hour and a half from the time I validated my bus ticket at the first point on my journey to when I walked in the door at home. Means that I would have to assume most days I will be 3 and a half or four hours in transit. How many unpaid work days does that add up to in one year. The interviewer also mentioned that because all the projects were stringently deadlined, it could mean a lot of overtime. If I have to travel off peak hours that travel time could take five or six hours. Hmmmm. Asked that higher power to help me find a way to make this work too.

The voicemail was flashing when I walked in my door. It was Elections Canada's head office. Still about that one woman complaining about handicapped access. The person originally handling that file isn't there anymore. Could I go over all the details again. Could I also describe how I managed to accommodate 7 Advance Polls in the office space I've rented for the past four events. It appears that piqued someone's interest. A lot of time was needed to explain that, because I have never been able to use the same office twice. Each office required a different set up based on the layout. This last one was the most challenging, but it worked well given all the shenanigans by the political parties and certain voters. In fact it probably protected some of my workers from having to deal with a violent response or two. That's the reason I have them all where I can be present. She asked me how I would set up my next Advance Polls. I allowed I had no idea, because I wasn't being allowed the hours to find a replacement office, now that it appears my last office is rented. She didn't seem to want to get into the decisions made by another department, but I can't answer that question unless I know the layout of the space that will be rented. Oi. She did call back twice after that, I think partly because I explained how frustrated I was feeling with all the obstruction I was coming up against. Including not being allowed to rent the main floor space in the last office that seemed to be the crux of that one woman's complaint. It was nice that she took the extra time to calm me down, but it still doesn't help me with that one woman's complaint nor the need to be searching for the next office. That other job was really becoming more tempting all the time as the discussion with EC continued. Please let something work out there.

Soothed my tender feelings by digging through my e-newsletters. Now there is even more incentive to want to go to the Toronto Film Festival in September. A more comprehensive list of male and female actors whose work I enjoy. Synchronistically one of the other emails had a contest running for a trip for two to the festival. Someday I'll win something other than a chance to sit in on a time share sales pitch. Right? An article about Mediterranean beaches threw me for a loop. It was almost on a par with that one essay I read about how to get rid of scorpions that I wrote about nearly four years ago. This lexicon of the gypsy language was something I had been searching for for a while. There is something about the language that keeps tweaking something just under the level of my conscious mind. I'm hoping some time spent working with the language will pull it of the ocean of the collective unconscious. I think it has to do with the archetypes and the myths they in-form. Then there was this video tour of the Rosslyn Chapel. It is a truly beautiful piece of architecture isn't it? Last up? The first screen kiss for Harry Potter of course. Given how much crucial information was severed from the text of the last book made into a movie, I was certain that something as frivolous as Harry's first girlfriend wouldn't be allowed to interfere with the action of the new film. Maybe some of the other more important pieces, such as the contributions to the plot by the house elves, for example, will be included this time.

On the down side, these marketing ploys by one of the pharmaceutical companies and another charity were not only disgusting but should be challenged on ethical/legal grounds too. Then the mood improved again when I realized I had received several positive and pleased responses from staff I emailed yesterday about working in the next election - depending on how the drama in my own life plays out.

Anyway the cats are jumping all over the keyboard, so I guess that means I'd better sign off before it is done for me. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats