Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:50 - 16.08.06
gravity
My favorite astrologer's advice for me this week was to look up. Rather arcane, but whatever. Maybe the reference had something to do with that dream about the Egyptian goddess. I still can't figure out why otherwise, unless it means I'll need to duck in the next couple of days - being we live under the flight path into our international airport. Hope not. I did get one job posting saying it matched my profile/resume - for a corporate pilot. Quite honestly even I don't think I would let myself drive one of those jets. Not that I'm not adventurous, but I don't even drive on the ground - well except for shopping carts. I can understand why the sunspot magnetic reversal in the one news story is important, but that will play out over the next 11 years, not the next week. Maybe I'll just go back and reconsider the sky goddess' profile. The answer should be there. Right? I love puzzles.

Where I should have been paying attention was to my bank account I think. More of an earthbound issue. Messed up a deposit. Fortunately the bank gods were with me and there was no penalty ascribed to the error. I found out about it early this morning as I was getting my young men out the door. Decided I'd better go fix it right away and not tempt fate. At 7 something in the am I was walking off to that bank, thinking back to years past when a mistake like that would have been a traumatic, chaos inducing event; being grateful that I don't have to cope with that anymore. When my guys were younger and my money was so tight I actually did have to calculate everything down to the penny. With no access to credit, the penalty for bouncing a cheque was enough to put me in financial crisis for at least a couple of months while I made up for the costs of the penalties. The money stress was so bad it actually made me physically sick sometimes. Six sons to feed, clothe and equip and less than half the income needed to meet the basics. I guess even though I hate living on credit I have progressed, as it were. What I really would like to progress to would be to be able to pay all the bills, including all the credit I have used to fix the house and to take the time to get better health wise, with something left over. Maybe that will come in the future. What brought me back to that earlier state about finances, other than the banking error, was the news that one ticket that won on the $42 million lottery was bought by 8 dollar-store workers. The one woman interviewed started to cry when she described her delight that she would now be able to buy her daughter the school supplies she needed. I can remember what it felt like to not be able to do that, so I guess I identified with her very strongly. It is really great when anyone in that position gets a break. I can't think of a group of people who will likely appreciate how great a blessing their win is other than that small cluster of friends. I hope it stays a happy event for them.

I had been up all night, partly because my two young men were a bit ill. I was feeling really wobbly by the time I arrived back home. I can't sleep at nights right now, even at the best of times. Calmed down the cats and then crawled back into bed for a bit. I guess the fact that I work through most nights now and sleep during the day seems odd, but when I began it was because it was just too hot to sleep through the evening hours. It was really only cool enough to sleep properly in the morning hours just after sunrise when one could let the cooled air into the house. Then there was the rapist issue too. My mistake. I guess I need to try and reverse that biorhythmic cycle. Once I'd had enough shut eye I retraced my steps to the shopping center and bought groceries. Bumped into one of my key office workers while I was there so we traded updates on family and such for a bit. She said she's ready to go back to work for me so that is a good thing.

Number three son came by around 10 tonight and just left. He still is vehicleless, but he wanted to research how much it would cost him to replace his GMC engine. He says he needs a 4.3 L, 6 cylinder engine. I really have no idea what that means, but I sent emails to different people I know who might be able to help out after he had done the web search without much success. When number one son arrived home from work he volunteered to help search through some of the pick a part services that dot the city. I don't understand how they'll know whether the part they pick is any good, but I guess that is their call. That's why I only drive shopping carts you see.

I had another intriguing dream today. It was a really good pot-boiler/mystery story. It seemed to involve a high school friend and me. We used to collaborate on a number of school projects together. It was one of those relationships where the sum was definitely greater than the parts. We each added our own perspectives and knowledge, but we seemed to have a creative chemistry that always produced original work that neither of us could have said we were aware of before that project. Interesting. Anyway for some reason the two of us decided to enter some sort of beauty pageant. Something I would never have considered when I was younger. Oddly, we both finished near first place and considered it a great lark. There was some link from the pageant to a detective who was investigating disappearances of key figures in the pageant. He was one of those loner guys. Didn't like other humans very much, because he had spent so much time seeing the bad side of people through his investigations. "Everyone has something to hide". Whatever. He lived in a run down home filled with cats. He named them after cars. You know like Mercedes, Jaguar, Opel and such. My friend and I had walked through a horse pasture after the pageant and I had left her at her home before returning to mine. We had spoken with the detective on the way to her place, just joking about the pageant and the funny ways life gets back at you. Sometime after I arrived home my friend was kidnapped, so I went back to visit the detective to see if he could help me find her. Things start to get hazy in my recollection of that dream now, but it was one surprise after another during the investigation. Almost good enough for a short story if I could remember the details.

Anyway time for bed. Maybe the rest of the story will come back to me. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats