Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:32 - 06.08.06
searchable
It appears that the police have caught the rapist who was working in our neighbourhood. To me he didn't really look a lot like the composite sketch that was shown, but that might explain my inability to remember both a person's name and face at the same time rather than the quality of the sketch. I can usually be sure I remember both name and face together if I can connect them to one of my children, volunteer or work experiences; otherwise all bets are off. I hadn't realized how much it was bothering me that that man was still out there until the announcement of his capture was made around the supper hour tonight. It really does make you feel unsafe - that unknown quantity. Now, maybe when the weather cools down a bit more I can alternate long walks outside with the stair climbing inside. A change of pace and scenery always help in keeping up one's exercise regime I think.

I still don't know who was outside our home the other night, although I'm guessing it was one of the neighbours. All the couples smoke - a lot. Last night my youngest was really worried too. There was the sound as of someone chipping away or digging through the shared wall we have with the neighbours on the east side of our duplex. That was after midnight too. Maybe it was just the cats.

I bought a couple of potted plants last grocery shopping trip, because I can't stand being a non-green house anymore. I had given it up when we had so many cats last year. They felt that those plants were for their after dinner delectation, you see. Now that there are only five - all of whom weren't in rooms with plants - I'm hoping I can start refilling that space. The bamboo plants in my bedroom actually have a very soothing effect on me everytime I walk past them. I don't know why that is, but why argue with positive effects. The cats all are intrigued by the lilies, now that they are blossoming. I've had to scold several of them about their attempts to nibble. Not happening.

I took a look at my election pre-writ assignment for this month early this morning. It actually isn't too bad and it looks as though the pay will cover the past few months' expenses - when I finally do get paid that is. Altogether it felt as though a great weight had been taken off my shoulders. I still have those two chunks of paperwork to do before I begin this new work, but at least there is a good reason to move forward with things now. I'm certain you've been able to tell I've been feeling really discouraged, right dear diary. Now I have the luxury of time to continue looking for a job I really want, rather than taking one because I'm completely broke into the bargain. I talked with my sister's sister-in-law about that briefly today, because she went through an almost identical patch of misery in the spring. We both knew at some level that what was unfolding was "right", but at the same time one is wondering if the universe has any understanding of the need to pay bills on time and where possible, in full. Not that that's going to happen any time soon, but at least paying to keep one's head above water is nice.

The reason for our phone call was that I had run into a couple of glitches while trying to book her airline tickets using my loyalty points. There were so many personal questions about her that I asked the agent if they also wanted her weight, eye colour, pyjama size, and height. Jeepers. When I couldn't answer, the agent started to sound suspicious. That was even more of a concern. I'm not all that fond of air travel to begin with and all this induced paranoia makes it even less alluring. I can't see airlines staying viable much longer if travellers are constantly going to be subjected to increasingly more impersonal and intrusive treatment even before one boards a plane. It's bad enough that now there are airport taxes that cost more than the price of the tickets, the seats are so tiny that even someone like me is cramped, and the availability of one's pre-booked seat is subject to the whim of the wizard of Oz on one of those days when he hasn't had Dorothy and Toto around to keep him honest. Bah humbug too.

One of the interesting bits in the newspaper today was the website for the British National Museum/Archives. Now I would give anything to park myself there to study for a year or two. One of the university professors that I once babysat for did just that. We all swore he was left struck dumb with awe for at least a year after. English professor you see. Anyway some of their documents have been on-line for while. Today was the announcement of the availability of the Domesday Book. Sort of a census and tax assessment all rolled into one by the Norman - that wicked Frenchman, eh? - William the Conqueror, in 1085 ad, shortly after defeating Harald the Saxon for control of the British Isles. It lists the names of the peers, their land holdings, lists of serfs and slaves too - probably mostly Irish, Iceni and Welsh in origin - but only the males. Sometimes the females were mentioned as an afterthought, but apparently they had no cash value. He had wanted the listing so he could prove his wealth to the moneylenders who financed his army. It also allowed him to set levies on each estate, based on its measurable assets. So that's where the term "dark ages" came from right? Taxation to support activities one does not believe are acceptable. The website also has a lot of declassified MI5 documents that are fascinating all on their own. Sylvia Pankhurst was one person cited for distributing seditious materials. Yes - that's right dear diary, the woman who lead the fight to get women the right to vote in Britain, that was what was in her pamphlets oh and anti-war treatises too. She also worked hard to help refugees from the several European and mediterranean wars that she lived to see. La plus ca change la plus ca meme. Bad Girl. One of my favorite role models in terms of social action. Then there were the declassified documents that were deemed indecent. One was "Meeting the emotional needs of the single woman". Of course. Apparently if one wasn't married one wasn't supposed to have emotions either. Add in the 1911 federal census and various claims to the British throne and it made for some very interesting surfing. Hard to come back to reality actually. Oh wait, that was reality once too.

Time for bed now dear diary. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats