Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:47 - 05.08.06
Around the World .....
It has been another "dark and stormy night". More of our huge, elderly trees being blown down with subsequent road closures.

I heard from one of the women I spent a lot of time with when I was volunteering. She is helping organize a milestone celebration for her own community and wanted to pick my brains, in terms of details on some of the projects. We had a very entertaining reminisce and then she mentioned her holiday last spring. Now when she had called, I was busy with the BBC language site that offers free training in multiple languages - mostly at the tourist level of expertise. One of the daily horoscopes I had read for my sun sign stated that learning even a few phrases in a language I don't usally speak, would open the door so I could find myself travelling there. Cosmically drawing the experience by displaying intent - the Warrior stance. Decided it couldn't cause any harm, so opened up the BBCi August newsletter and chose from the highlighted options. Greek. When I was in grade three I was in a "special class". Our teacher was a great believer in the arts and humanities. Along with everything else, she said it was critical that we learn the basics of Greek and Latin because so much of our language derives from it. Truth is those classes helped enormously when I finally was able to take formal science classes. Didn't have to learn a new language, you see. So I was sitting there learning how to make casual conversation, ask for directions, order food and shop all in "it's Greek to me!". Very bad pun, but fun. Essential touristisms anyway. As I've mentioned many times, I would love to visit Egypt and it had always been in the back of my mind that I would like to travel around Greece - and maybe Spain - at the same time. Their histories have always fascinated me. I started reading about them in grade one, when the bookmobile opened up a whole new world for me. Anyway my friend stated that she had just returned from a dream trip to both Greece and Egypt. Being as detail oriented as she is, she has kept all her notes on her researches and her contact lists for travelling in those countries. She had a friend in the same profession as hers and who was living in Egypt, helping her find the most cost effective ways of travelling yet still be able to see as much as she could. She offered to share that information with me along with her photos of the trip over lunch sometime soon. I can't wait. I hope the rest of that horoscope is right. Odd thing is that one photo she took of me at a conference we attended together years ago seemed to be following me around the house all summer. I figured there must be a message there but I didn't anticipate it would be about something that has just been one of those dreams for so long.

I also heard from my sister's sister-in-law - the astrologer who lives on our left coast. We started off by talking about her trip her next month, but, of course, then drifted into discussion about things political and astrological both. Pivotal month coming up. Of course a lot of the focus was on the Middle East and synchronously this article about tactics arrived as we were talking. If the Texan think tank cited is correct, then hezbollah and its allies have been planning this incitement for a very long time given the amount of preparation and resources that are being mentioned. Premeditation and the cold blooded decision to use the country of Lebanon as a killing field so that it would not threaten their own friends and families. Sort of like the Netherlands and Belgium in World War II. What I wonder, with an admittedly weak understanding of military tactics, is that given how very obvious and crude the terrorists actions have been it seems more than likely that it is also a trap of a sorts. Draw an entire army to one point in a country then draw them into "enemy" territory under heavy fire. Annihilate the clustered units and send in an armed force across undefended borders in the south. See I don't understand much about strategy, but I've read enough of Tolkien to know how it works. Right? What was also in that newsletter were some vicious racial slurs thrown at Condoleezza Rice by mainstream Palestinian media. Unfortunately living in a very diverse community like mine it seems that what was expressed was a common attitude toward the black community wherever they were born by some Middle Eastern groups. That tired old misinterpretation of the story of Noah and his sons. However since one tribe of semites is locked in a death struggle with Abraham's other son's equally semite descendants I guess any kind of madness is likely to rear it's head eventually. Brother against brother.

To counter that dismal discussion I spent some time looking up the meaning of some Britishisms. Maybe I'll get to go there too. Truth is given my druthers, I'd spend a year or two just touring through every country I've ever read about, country by country, all across the globe starting with the eastern part of Canada and finally returning home through Hawaii, Disneyland, Alaska and then Canada's northern territories. I don't think 80 days will do it. Right now I guess I'll do that travelling in my dreams. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats