Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:29 - 04.08.06
denouement
Another big storm beat down on the city tonight. Hail the size of golf balls, flooded underpasses and traffic snarled all over the city. My sister in the south of the city said all her flowers were destroyed. Mown down in an instant. A simultaneous flash of lightning and clap of thunder near my home meant sirens wailing for about half an hour. Don't know what was hit. One home in the north - a bolt travelled through a huge spruce tree then blew out all the outdoor lights. Not as bad as the tornados that hit eastern Canada though.

Today was just about cleaning up a bit more. Getting some of that paperwork completed meant a lot of supporting data could be put away. I might even see all the top of my dining room table sometime this autumn. That's exciting.

Talked with my Dad a bit. He finally got the braces made to fit his feet. The ones the doctor had prescribed for him nearly two months ago. He sounded a lot more upbeat now that he can walk properly again. He and his neighbour took their camper van and went out to British Columbia last week. Parked by one of the pretty little lakes in the south, then went antique shopping. There are some really unique communities in that area so one can get lost exploring for days. He said the temperatures were in the 40's C/100+ F and the van was like a broiler. Cut their travels short a bit, but still had a good time I think.

Number six son had his hair cut. Went from having a ponytail almost as long as mine to a cut that looks like one of the anime characters. It took a bit of getting used to, but it looks really good. He saved the mane for sentimental reasons saying it took him four years to grow it that long, so he needed the memento. He said he did it because it is time for change and moving forward with his life. That's a very symbolic way to start. I'm thinking of cutting my hair too. On the train the other day some of the males just couldn't seem to refrain from trying to touch my ponytail. Don't like it. Number five son and his girlfriend broke up and he is feeling pretty blue. He's also looking into going back to school. Might end up with three of them upgrading all at the same time. Bonus.

My computer is still being tampered with in some way. If the modem is turned off there is no problem, but the minute I connect with the internet the hacker attack starts up. I've repaired quite a bit of the damage done, but that isn't the point. Even with the two security systems in place nothing seems to be able to block the intruder. Just frustrating. Another big bang out behind the house again mid-afternoon. I'm guessing it has something to do with the power grid again and that isn't a happy thought either. I wondered at one point if that was involved with the computer problems too, but I don't see how. Just another puzzle to deal with. Time for bed now I think though. Someone is pacing outside in the side yard smoking and coughing. Neither my youngest nor I smoke so I don't know what to think right now. That needs to be checked out too. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats