Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:19 - 29.07.06
re-view
Thundershowers split the early morning sky. Raining down refreshment. Another night that I didn't sleep because of the heat, so I just got my young men off to work and then cratered for a while. I'm still spiking a fever, but I've come to the conclusion that it is just the body venting off the heat it wasn't able to disperse over the past month of very hot weather. The forecasters have been all over the map the past two weeks with their prognostications, probably because the jet stream is so close to the city that it was impossible to be certain what would happen. It would have been easier to cope if they had just come out and said that, with a two pronged forecast that said if the jet stream is north of the city then this weather or if the jet stream drops south of the city then that. As it was, one could pick the forecast one liked the most and just hope that it was correct. Exact science. Uh huh.

There were some really interesting insights into the Middle East crisis from some very different viewpoints today. To tell the truth since hezbollah is causing damage to each of Israel, the Palestinians and Lebanon by playing them against each other, the most sensible approach would be for the three of them to band together to root out the problem. I know the response that suggestion is likely to create, but both Egypt and Jordan have figured out that working with the reality of Israel's existence has made them stronger and more respected on the world stage. Their opinions are taken seriously. Maybe the rest of the world could offer to fund such a joint venture in the name of enlightened self-interest. That is, reducing the chance of a biological or nuclear war as Syria and Iran now openly collude with the terrorists, including Al-Qaeda. It is time to separate emotion from the reality and deal with what is in front of the world without the posturing from some sources.

Closer to home there were some stories of a mostly positive nature. The herbalists are fighting back successfully against the power of the pharmaceutical industry's stranglehold on Health Canada. I hope the call for an inquiry goes far enough to explore the undue influence being used. One piece of history preserved, even as necessary change occurs. Good lesson. One rock star originally from round these parts makes a very big mistake in judgement, but takes responsibility for it and encourages his fans not to follow suit. Too bad some other media darlings wouldn't follow his lead.

One of my friends was telling me about a scary incident with her brother. He ate fresh shellfish and appeared to succumb to heavy metal poisoning. She said his fever was so high that it heated up the whole hospital room. He was finally treated with a complete plasma/blood exchange. The problem is increasing as the oceans and rivers of the planet heat up, promoting growth of natural toxins like the red tide and exacerbating man-made pollution from manufacturing and primary resource recovery - like coal.

I was looking longingly at this travel site, wondering if there was a way to run away but still have something to come back to - maybe. I decided that this young person's advice might be worth considering, especially as she has realized her own dreams by following through herself. Maybe I'm taking the wrong approach to my job search. Can't hurt to try something different I suppose. Anyway time to go exercise since the house is now cool and the cats want to play. They are taking much better care of their toy mice now, but they are doing that by insisting that I play with them instead of their brothers and sisters - the ones with teeth and very sharp claws. Maybe I don't really need the stair exercise too. We'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats