Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:28 - 20.07.06
searching
There was a scolding waiting for some Returning Officers in our email today. "If you lose your office you are to report it immediately". Yes well. I've documented what happened when I did just that, didn't I dear diary. Not only was I not given additional time to look for a new site, but I was also required to waste my time and the landlord's goodwill all for no benefit to him or pay for me. Apparently headquarters now is complaining because it is costing them money not to know. Some days it just doesn't help one's morale at all to see that going on.

Today a few more resumes were sent off and more housework was done. I spent some time looking for that one '80's song that number three son has had running through his head. I found several one hit wonder sites for that decade, but I still can't be certain which song it was - there were hundreds to choose from. It was a good trip down memory lane though. For a lot of the tunes the lyrics and melodies sprung to mind immediately and it reminded me of some of the bands and singers who were really good too. I wonder where they are now.

In the news this was a very different perspective on the evacuation of non-nationals from Lebanon. I think that the Canadian government tries very hard to remind travellers that once they leave North American soil the rules are completely different and sometimes there is no way that the protection they expect is possible. It is obvious from some of the news here that there was no forewarning about the intent of the terrorists nor their backers. That is the Syrians I am guessing since it appears that their government is preparing to return to take over the part of Lebanon that they had held for decades while the last civil war in that country raged. It was that government that stirred the pot and caused as much breakdown in attempts at peace making as they could. Maybe it's time the curtain was pulled back from that Wizard of Oz so everyone can see what is really going on. The other issue that was of interest today was in Alaska. Between this and the seismic assay that I mentioned yesterday there seems to be something that needs closer scrutiny there too.

While I was perusing youtube for that 80's song I came across some Bollywood exercise tapes. Bonus. Power yoga with a bellydance beat. Wonder if there's a copy of it available here on this continent. When it cools down a bit and I have gainful employment I wouldn't mind adding it to my growing repertoire of folk exercising tapes. We'll see.

Right now I guess it's time to try dreaming myself out of this space. Earlier today I seemd to be in a marketplace in a very strange city. It looked a bit like a "Main Street/small town setting but semi-tropical climate that turned into a Caribbean Island market. That would have been ok if either Johnny Depp or Orlando Bloom had made an appearance, but all I found there were pickpockets. I was trying to find my way out and it became an Alice in Wonderland type adventure. Streets became tunnels and tunnels became houses and I was struggling to find my way out into daylight. Going from the market square down one tunnel while pursued by those pickpockets I found a trapdoor into a very nice home. That trapdoor turned into a rabbit hole with barbed wire when I was half way through and it was as though it was getting smaller as I was trying to climb through. The people in the house were cheering me on, but none of them would give me a hand nor would they tell me what to do to stop the rabbit hole from pulling me back down into the tunnel. I did finally get out of my own accord but I was very frustrated. That Cheshire cat.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats