Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:10 - 19.07.06
treading water
There was rain glistening on the deck when I woke up this morning. Blessed relief. The inside of the house was still warm but at least if the exterior is cooled there is a chance that it will be more bearable inside. I wasn't feeling very well but I think a combination of migraine and the body's adjustment to a temperature drop that extreme had a lot to do with it. For one thing I have feeling returning to my feet now that the swelling has gone down.

My big effort for today was shopping for groceries. I had had a dream the night before that seemed to be giving me detailed instructions. The only thing I recalled upon waking though was that I needed to be certain I had a package of pantyhose for an unexpected reason coming up soon. Fine. Tomorrow is supposed to be reasonable heat wise but it will have to be something very important to get me into them after that. We have three days of +30 C/+90 heat subsequently. I'm not into that degree of self abuse for something less than a critical meeting. Ms Snowball had become the heroine of the cat family for her long sustained dig under the bookshelves yeterday to retrieve the bits of missing toy mice for them to play with. I think I've noted before that those cats tend to take their play-mouse hunting very seriously. The toys rarely stay intact for more than a day. There must be some urgent need for honing their skills now in their minds, because I think Ms Snowy spent nearly a whole afternoon using every skill she could muster to accomplish the round up of about three bedraggled and scraggly toys. Since the cats have been so well behaved and resourceful I decided that I would buy them each one of their favorite type of mouse during the shopping today too. I spent considerably less than usual even so given that I still haven't got full time work yet. My youngest had already arrived home from work when I returned so he helped me haul everything up the stairs. Good thing because i was still feeling really weak in the knees and dizzy. Just the weather I'm sure.

At home I had emailed youtube after I came across a recruiment video masked as a music video by some White Supremacist organization. Hard to know whether it is a prank or a serious attempt but I asked them to remove it for promoting hate and violence against identifiable groups of people. They sent me back one of their automated replies yesterday. Tonight I sent back a little more forceful request. I think their site is a great place and provides a wonderful service but the shadow side of course is that some users will abuse the privileges they are being extended. They only way to make it so that it remains an anomaly is if people speak up when they see something offensive. I also have received several more calls from a law enforcement official down in Alabama. Apparently that one gun expert can't remember his own area code. The one who caused me a little stress a couple of years ago when the phone calls made me wonder if maybe my identity had been stolen. Anyway this gentleman was looking for that expert just now and has left several voicemails. All I know about guns is which end one is supposed to point away from one's self. I don't really care to know any more than that, thank you very much.

In the news a lot of contamination of water in our provinces and a find of sea monsters too. More entertaining though is the news that several favorite performers are planning tours that include our city in the next few months. I doubt I'll have landed a job before the folk festival this month but maybe I'll have the chance to go see one of the other events in the fall. My friend from the Middle East asked me what I was doing for fun these days and the answer has been very little because of the lack of income. However there are always books to read and you dear diary and that is good enough I guess. I would really like to spend some time in our museum and at the zoo but whatever. I did spend some time looking at travel vacation packages on my loyalty point website and I could book one but that isn't really responsible if one doesn't have work to come back to is it? Don't know. I'll have to think about it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats