Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:54 - 18.07.06
old friends, bookends
The tornado warnings for just north of here were downgraded around suppertime today. My little tempest yesterday had nothing to do with them either. In fact I've had a migraine for about three days now that more accurately reflects barometric conditions. It was very hot today but a cold front blew in around the time of the late night news. Only one day's reprieve and then it is supposed to get even hotter for several days. I guess we should be grateful for the one day. Yesterday was almost cool enough, so I had managed to get the yard work done as well as several loads of laundry and a couple of sinks worth of dishes. Tomorrow I'll get the outside errands done while walking isn't so difficult.

On the weekend there was an article in the real estate section of the newspaper about a new community that is to be developed after approval procedures are met in the autumn. It is slated to be built in my electoral district. No estimate of how many new residents that will add but the density rating looked pretty high. Checked the city planning maps section on-line and found several more new streets approved in my most northwesterly community too. We have no assignments for election work this month but have been told there will be one coming in August. At a guess it will be the geography section of the preparations so I guess the timing of the announced new development is a good thing. If it still isn't posted on the web I think the developer wil be able to supply me with at least the proposed layout of the streets and residences.

Today seemed to be a day for communications. I heard from several of my staff - more just chit chat than anything of a work nature. Two seem to be needing some emotional support and that is fine. One would like to set a peer counselling group so I asked my favorite psychologist for some input and he got back to me too. He'd been off playing with his grandkids for a couple of weeks and said he had returned to his office work so as to recuperate. I can understand that. One of my best friends from high school got back to me too. I had lost her contact information last time my computer crashed so I had called and left a voicemail for her Mom. I had wanted to spend time with her anyway but the driver for contacting her at this point in time was that email a month ago from the one school reunion site. The one where I felt as though I was being propositioned. In that email the fellow had mentioned a lot of his old buddies by name and lamented the fact he had lost touch with them. One of them was this girlfriend's brother. Although I don't want to get involved with a married man and have no intention of communicating with him anymore I thought maybe I would help him reconnect with this one friend if what he really wanted was just some grounding back in his high school days. My friend had talked with her brother and he seemed fine with the reconnection so I passed his contact information on tothe miscreant. I spent a lot of time on the phone with my frined catching up on her news too. She has been very ill too so she was telling me about her struggles with her own health. We talked of our children and then she explained a solution her hubby the carpenter had come up with for their cats with wanderlust. It sounds like something my youngest and I might be able to build together if we can come up with some sidewalk blocks for free. Ms Kitty is a master tunneler you see. I'm hoping my friend can supply a photo of her hubby's creation as a template and then we can go from there.

I need to get up and stay up most of the day tomorrow to take advantage of the improved weather so I think I'll just say goodnight now dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats