Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:17 - 13.07.06
home work
I dreamt I was on the second floor of my home/business office. It wasn't my current home or even the same city. A group of close friends were present and it was late evening. There was no moon or clouds, but the stars were standing out cold and clear in their infinite variety of colours. Velvety blackness filled the house. We had been conversing together quietly, but had chosen not to turn on the lights. They simply weren't necessary. Suddenly there came the sound of a group of people outside who were threatening us. They stood together at one of the corners of the house intoning as though trying to send a curse. It was a lot like the one scene in "The Golden Child" where the coke can gets to "put on the ritz". One of the males in our group picked up what looked like a big piece of black mahogany. It was about 2 inches thick and must have weighed a great deal, given the dimensions of the slab were probably 8 feet by 10 feet. The fellow lifting it was young and brawny - no shirt - ahh Fabio, well almost. He seemed to have no difficulty carrying it. He told us all to stay away from the large glassless windows that ringed the second floor, so we retreated to an inner sanctum that might have served as a dining room or kitchen during the day. As he walked in a clock-wise direction around the outer perimeter of the upstairs floor he held the wood so that it filled up and blocked each window as he passed it. Suddenly the cursing stopped and in their place buddhist monks appeared chanting "Om mane padme hum". Once the young man had done his circumferential walk, we looked out the windows and could see them standing on the street in their saffron robes smiling up at us. They had flowers in their hands that changed into birds that took wing carrying their messages to the stars. We fed them supper and thanked them for their kindness.

Next day the assault seemed to be renewed. The business seemed to have something to do with an old fashioned trading company. High seas and clipper ships too. I love those vessels. In the early hours of the morning it appeared that someone had put a huge printing press outside on the street exactly where the intoners had stood. They were printing some sort of circular that was defaming our business - accusations of witchcraft. We had originally hired the company to print flyers to promote our trading house, but the group that had been outside cursing us the evening before had sent one of their own people in as an employee. The infiltrator had changed the typesetting in the plates without the owner's knowledge or consent. We weren't aware of what was occurring until we heard the cats and kittens outside. They were climbing all over the printing machine meowing and exploring all it's crevices. I was worried they would be hurt by the moving parts of the machine, but they seemed to know where it was safe to be and where they had to avoid. A man outside the house came screaming up to the main floor, pounding on the main door demanding that we get rid of all the cats. He was dressed like a 16th century puritan. It seemed he was a religious zealot and had been the one responsible for the group trying to curse us the evening before. He had originated the witchcraft rumours that were printed in those circulars distributed to the citizens of the town where we lived. The truth was that he wanted to take over our business but felt he had to discredit us, so that he would not be charged with his illegal practices in relation to his trading house. He wanted title to our ships and our rights in certain ports. He had been banned from those ports because of his shady dealings. As I listened to him yelling outside the house, I suddenly transformed from myself into the man who owned the printing business. The man who was standing at the door yelling, who had had his person sabotage the printing press, came up to the transformed me and stated that I was fired because his underhanded attempt to use those circulars to discredit us had failed. My reaction was very odd in that I was startled, but not surprised really. I simply told him he had no authority to do any of the things he had attempted and then I walked away from him. It would be nice to be able to do the same thing in my real life. Some how I feel that my progress has been blocked by people like that man who gains power at the expense of my work and welfare. Maybe I'm just paranoid.

When my youngest and I brought in the groceries yesterday, we noticed that there was broken glass all over out front walkway. It was that pebbly type that comes from broken pop bottles and such. Neither of us could recall seeing it on our way out and I had only been away six hours at most. When I was just finishing putting the last of the groceries away I could hear the children that live or are babysat in the one duplex to the west of us yelling and throwing things. I went to check what was going on and found the one little girl throwing rocks and tearing branches off my hedge to throw at two cats sitting on my front lawn. Next thing I knew she was summoning some of the other children and they were chasing those animals - yelling at them as they did so. I asked them to stay out of my yard. I also asked them to stop throwing the rocks at my house and to cease ripping off branches from my plants. The first little girl claimed the larger cat was hers and that she was allowed to do anything she wanted to get him. I pointed out that she was not welcome to damage my property and that it was not her right to be there unless she asked me first. She kept trying to get the other children to join her in her pursuit of that one cat, but the others backed off once they realized I was watching them. I left the landing, but left the screen door open because my cats like to visit with the outside cats. When I came back later I found the lock on the door had been broken. It is fixable, but it is still frustrating to not be able to trust that even with my doors locked the security of the house is compromised.

A bit later the neighbours in the other side of my duplex were out on their balcony. At first I thought they might be barbequing, but the smell of the material burning had nothing to do with food. The first odour was like burning wool. Memories of old chemistry lessons went zipping though my head. Then there was the smell of hashish. Uh huh. I had been napping when the burning smell and the continuous coughing of the two adults first woke me. I coughed at that point and the male got quite angry. He said to the female they would have to go inside, because I was "snooping around". Well yes it seems as though the neighbours think that I am not entitled to be either outside my home nor inside either. Just one of those days I guess.

When my oldest son arrived for the evening he told me he had been caught up in the train break down in the downtown too costing him wages as he had to find an alternate way to get to his workplace. He asked me to wake him at 4 in the am today. He wanted to meet up with his partner and my two grandchildren before they went into the Stampede Grounds this morning. Children's Day has all the free attractions and a lot of really big discounts as well as the free breakfast and entry into the park - if you arrive early enough. I packed his lunch for work and also packed a treat pack for my grandbabies. Mostly real juice that I had frozen in the boxes so they would be really cold and granola bars - the real ones not the candy imitations - to give them energy and nutrition of a sort too. My son did have to go to one of his jobs for part of the day. Even so he said they would stay to the end of Children's Day with his family until the nightly fireworks were being set off. Long day but he really seemed to be looking forward to it. My youngest took a break from the festivities today - just heading off to work at his usual time then home for dinner and bed. Needs to recharge his batteries for the balance of the event I guess. Tomorrow has traditionally been teen night which is very popular and always has good entertainment aimed at the young adults. Weather forecast is for clear skies and warm days. Just about perfect I think. Me? Today just puttered along with more job search work. That interview went well yesterday, but that doesn't mean I stop looking. One of these days I'm bound to succeed. Right? Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats