Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:50 - 10.07.06
retrogrades
Connectivity and power outages the past few days, dear diary, that Mercury retrograde thang, is why I've had trouble talking with you. Other astrological aspects are looking good though. Some of the stuff is just odd - like the kick the one day where some of my clocks lost their juice, yet others didn't. It wasn't even as though there was a circuit or two that blew. That was what I checked first. Heard later in the day that there were outages around the city including the one theme park where the rides were frozen for some time. Some patrons were literally left hanging from the roller coaster for about an hour. Probably a lightning strike in the case of my home - only took out the really sensitive clocks/computer. Guess it could be worse.

Saturday the cats were behaving strangely. Having raised six sons and nearly lived as a parent volunteer in their classrooms and on field trips certain reflexes are now automatic anytime there is that sense that something isn't right. First reaction is to count heads. Sounds pretty simple but if one can figure out which child (pet) or group of children (pets) are missing one can almost tell the story about to unfold by who is missing and in what combination. If you're lucky preventive intervention can often head off big problems. In this case the only missing feline was Ms Kitty. She is a Taurus cat so she has very set routines and haunts. Coupled with the behaviour of the other cats - who were acting quite distressed - I knew immediately that somehow she had managed to get out of the house. I could hear something odd in the basement so headed for the laundry room. Sure enough there she was perched in the lower branches of my cherry tree crying the blues. It's the first time she's been outside since being neutered and her wanderlust is much curtailed I guess. I knew she had only been gone a few hours, but she made it very clear she wanted in right now. In previous escapades, as you know dear diary, it was usually a couple of days before she would return after giving us the slip. My youngest opened his window, since it was closest, and she bolted in. The other cats made quite a fuss of cuddling and grooming her as she related her adventures. Later I found her belly up sleeping deeply, half hanging off her regular sleeping chair. Guess she felt safe, eh?

Mid afternoon numbers one and six sons wandered off together. Number six son was going to babysit the grandbabies so my oldest and his partner could take in the Stampede. Nelly Furtado was playing at the rock stage you see. My oldest was a bit sleepy I think. That youtube site becomes pretty addictive very quickly. He's a hard rock fan most times, so he was revelling in a lot of old music from the 60's and 80's as well. Gave him earphones so the rest of us could hear ourselves think. Shouldn't complain though I guess, when all the boys were still at home it wasn't unusual for all of them to have their favorite music blasting away. Their tastes were all unique to each young guy so I could tell who was in the house without even doing a head count. Name that tune.

The phone rang immediately the door closed behind them. It was my sister's sister-in-law from our left coast. We had a good chat about things astrological and about her journey back for a visit in the autumn. She has settled on the best dates for travel so I can book her flight through my airmiles now. Seems all good. Just hung up the phone when number three son called and asked if he could come and spend some time with me. He hasn't been able to put insurance on his own car, because the insurance agencies want an entire years payment at one time. He needs to save up more money to do that. One of his workmates has been sharing their car with him instead. It was another very hot afternoon so I took him up on the offer to help me do some errands. Went and did the work at the post office to get the last of my election assignment paperwork to the right bodies. I just have my invoice left to complete now, so that's a weight off my shoulders. Wandered over to the bank and took care of business there too. All outgo but no income. Sigh again. We went for dinner at Ricki's which was very pleasant. I think the young lady serving us took a shine to my guy and that was all good too. There was a round of hail and rain just getting to our community as he dropped me off so the house was even bearable as the evening progressed.

Sunday my youngest arrived back home mid-afternoon. He had told me he was planning to head straight off to the Sam Roberts concert at the Stampede that night from his brother's home, but I'm guessing a combination of fatigue from his first day of Stampede partying, a full day of babysitting my two oldest grandchildren, and the really threatening skies changed his mind. By 4 pm there were storm warnings being issued from the emergency network and they weren't messing around either. A nearly panicked male was telling the people who live just east and north of our communities to take shelter immediately because of the funnel clouds being sighted. Those warnings weren't lifted until 6 pm. We aren't even in Kansas, Toto. Decided staying off the computer was probably a good move from a safety perspective. I read Harry Potter out loud instead as we searched through book five for the clues Ms Rowling said were embedded in there for book seven. Uh huh. I think my youngest has realized that if I'm reading I can't nag him - right? He was busy with one of his game systems as the hail pounded down outside and I chuntered along. Hagrid's back - and there's going to be trouble - hey nonny nonny. Interesting coincidence in the video - Alan Rickman = Sheriff of Nottingham and Severus Snape. He's such a great villain.

This morning I woke up with the feeling that if I just held my hands a certain way I could ring water out of the air. The humidity was awful. Tried logging on to post to you again, but the connectivity through my provider was out. I know this because both my youngest and I tried all the wiring and then reconnected all the bits and bobs emerging from the back of the old tower and the modem. The telephone lines were all messed up too. Sigh. No luck getting back on until the afternoon. Decided to do laundry instead, now that it has cooled down considerably. Need clothes for my interview and my guys need work garb too after all. My youngest headed off for work then back down to the Stampede grounds for the Theory of a Deadman concert. I spent the first part of the afternoon working on catching up on email and correspondence. Booking appointments for work interviews was next including assembling the paperwork. The next few hours were spent reviewing specific legislation both provincial and federal for the downtown job interview coming up since that will be one of the key knowledge areas that I will need to demonstrate. The lure of the job is that I might be able to have a hand again in some of the volunteer projects that I was passionate about many years ago. Now all I need to do is find a way to incorporate a way to address the environmental issues that are eating at me. Finally I'm at the point where I can talk with you again, but it's time also for bed. Need to be sharp for the grilling tomorrow. Wish me luck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats