Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:16 - 05.07.06
Both
Happy Independence Day, dear diary.

It is so hot that the cats are losing their hair by the handful. Two have that long silky coat that comes out in clumps. As a result, I've spent a lot of the day either brushing the darlings to help them out with their grooming or been bent over picking up the parts of their coats they've managed to shed themselves. Most days, there are a couple of them who seem to believe any attempt to brush them is an insult to their personal grooming and toilette. Today even the ones who always turn up their noses at the offered brushing were glad for the respite though. The others just stretched out waiting for me to get in to all those hard to reach areas, don't you know. I think I could probably knit a couple of sweaters with the hair thus gathered - if I knew how. Decided to feed them extra tuna for supper so that their bodies can use the omega 3 and 6's to reduce the hairball problem. Normally that disappears within minutes, but even they are finding it too hot too eat.

I woke up feeling really cranky and depressed this morning. Couldn't say that anything has changed radically, so I decided to blame it all on Mr Mercury going backward. I think it is just all those little things piling up you know. It feels as though I am doing all the tasks I know I need to to complete the election work, to move the renovation of the house forward and to apply for jobs. The building frustration is that I am not seeing any tangible results. If I hadn't tried it wouldn't matter so much, but I am putting in a fair amount of effort. I did call more suppliers and finally faxed all the paperwork required for the estimates of the office supplies and furnishings to the local rep.

Talked to headquarters about the tech position. You see the local rep finally had to admit - when I put it in writing that I was following the specific directions that she had emailed to me - that she is not supposed to see that person's personnel paperwork. I've noted this before in my posts, dear diary, because staff information is protected by several Acts both federally and provincially. No one is supposed to see it unless they have direct supervision and only under specific circumstances at that. The reason it came out was that I still hadn't been able to arrange a time to oath the new tech, because of the issues he had to deal with first. The deadline for submission to her, that she had set was two weeks ago so I had kept her up to speed. When the ink hit the paper - or the electrons the screen - she had to choose to admit she had lied or risk having a written record that would likely show up at an inconvenient time down the road. The upshot was that I learned that the real deadline is tomorrow to submit directly to Ottawa. All the information about the reason for the delay had not been forwarded to Ottawa by her, so I needed to consult with them directly. Explained the technical issues around the oathing and they said they'd get back to me. Later the new tech called to let me know he had his other business under control and we set up a time for the last of that paperwork. I'm really looking forward to working with him, because I am aware that he has a lot of skills that maybe I can learn from him through observation. At least I know my technology will be in very good hands. Phew.

Later in the day, I decided that being negative about the slowness of my progress wasn't going to help me much. It just made me cranky with myself too. Decided to do things that created more positive thinking for me. Went to my favorite astrologer for solace. I do read a lot of other astrologers' work in other circumstances because each of us has a unique perspective and focus - astrology being a huge mathematical system involving a lot of variables. I like to look at an issue from as many angles as possible when I feel stuck. Sometimes that means looking through someone else's eyes. On the other hand, I don't do many astrology charts anymore because it can become a driver for creating self fulfilling prophecies. I find it difficult not to be influenced that way myself and found that even knowing that is a potential downfall means reading other people's work can sometimes make things even worse. If you are already in a negative frame of mind, another few peoples' negative words become amplified and can build on each other, leaving one feeling doomed. Quite honestly when one is in a negative frame of mind it is the worst possible choice to make. A chart should be used as a meditation tool or another perspective/mirror; not a road map. Free will to change the probabilities indicated in the chart is always an option.

Astrological interpretation is closer to quantum mechanics than Newton's laws, you see. In addition, each country and culture, and many faith systems, have all adapted their interpretations of the very same aspects to fit their values. I work with some Chinese, Arabian and aboriginal systems as well as a bit of the East Indian. Then there is the differences between the medieval, Victorian and modern systems. Same mathematical relationships, but different reference points and very different values. Sort of like light being considered both particles and waves. Why my favorite astrologer is my favorite is that he takes his work seriously, but not himself. It means his prognostications tend to be delivered with a certain amount of compassion and levity both. I don't find that the self fulfilling prophecy issue arises with his writing and besides I get to laugh along with his flights of fancy.

Next up went to visit some of the youtube videos I've posted lately. I choose the ones that make me happy or remind me of positive things from my past. There are a number that have images that I use for meditation too. The Dalai Lama, Nelson Mandela when he was first released. The image of hope in that one aboriginal prophecy. People who lead by example. One can always turn inward and find that things aren't exactly as one wishes or one can turn outward and try to build something better for one's circle of frineds, family and community. Isn't that part of the reason we are here?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats