Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:54 - 26.06.06
Switch
It was an eventful day even though nothing I intended to achieve got done. First up was an email from the one placement agency. The writer said that I had a good resume. Whew. However, the placement we had talked about a couple of weeks ago didn't look like it was going to gel. Not a surprise when one doesn't receive a response from someone for a while.

Finally figured out exactly what happened with my bank account. It was my error - grabbed the wrong cheque you see. It was synchronous that this story by Dave Barry told a similar tale of woe in a reprint in the Miami Herald today. What helped me though, was thinking back to where I was financially even a few years ago. At that time, with no credit card, I would have been in desperate straits especially having no benefits and no election pay to allow me to be sick for as long as I was this past few months. In fact, I was sick then and had to work even when I probably should have been hospitalized. That is the illness that still hasn't fully disappeared from my life, you see. However, with the previous two jobs and the pay that went with them, at least I was able to live off that while I was recuperating this past few months. The mess up was still upsetting and a major inconvenience, but it wasn't a threat to my ability to buy food or keep a roof over my head. I became very grateful even to do that after struggling for so many years on my own to keep my sons fed, housed and clothed.

One of the things that really bothers me about some people's attitudes about homeless people is that only by the grace of god are they not in the same position. It only takes one or two really bad breaks - family or health - to find oneself in that situation. No one I know ever said they wanted to be poor or homeless when they grew up. I think a lot of the people struggling to survive on the street deserve a lot of credit for the strength and courage they show in trying to climb out of some very deep holes tht they might not have been able to aviod regardless of how intelligent they were. Disability can strike anyone for example, boys and girls, with little warning and no mercy. This interview with JK Rowling addressed that question because she was a single parent when she wrote her first installment of Harry Potter. She fared better than a lot of women, because she was a teacher and could gain some employment. Even so she struggled with just one child depending on her. The reason I was watching the interview? Oh yes, she was talking about which characters she kills off in book seven. Hers is kind of a fairytale ending. It is lovely to think that something that amazing could happen to someone brought so low. I am happy at this point just to be able to pay the bills.

I was supposed to have attended an environmental workshop/presentation late this afternoon. However, the heat and the smog dictated that I couldn't even get as far as the bank, because of the asthma attack outdoor air triggered. Traveling several times further to downtown just wasn't in the cards. It is frustrating, but if I don't keep my health intact then my ability to get a job so I can keep paying my bills will really be compromised won't it? Instead I did dishes, laundry, shoveled out part of my youngest's room and changed litter boxes - more shoveling, uh huh. Time for bed now. Hopefully I'll be able to get that money issue dealt with tomorrow before the smog ges too heavy. Temperatures close to 90 F/30 C are not my favorite things.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats