Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:38 - 20.06.06
Feed Your Head
Happy Birthday Sir Paul!

It was a thunderous type of day. At one point, the cats were all scrambling to find hiding places and were looking at me reproachfully. They apparently don't approve of the pounding hailstones. Why wasn't I making it stop? Truth was there was a tingling sensation along the nape of my neck. Lightning flashes were almost simultaneous with the crashing thunder. I'm guessing I would have seen some hair raising going on on my own head had I bothered to look in a mirror. Sometimes it is better not to confirm one's suspicions though, you know. Besides that I was busy washing up things. I would have had to stop putting my hands in water if confirmation had been revealed. How am I supposed to get my housework done then? I've never heard any aboriginal legends where the thunderbirds help with the dishes. Didn't happen on Grease either.

The most interesting bits in the news tie in with my election work in some way dear diary. This story about having to post the laws about prosecution for voter fraud was a bit of vindication. My staff have been creating those posters for me for the past three events, because in order to do due diligence one must advise people both of the law they are about to break and their rights as well. As was demonstrated in the last election on polling day, things can get rather heated when someone is confronted with the fact that they are breaking the law and could go to jail for it. Don't shoot the messenger either.

Then there was the news that the city is annexing more land from the surrounding municipal district. My jurisdiction is to the city limits. If that boundary changes exactly as reported then my responsibilities, as well as five other Returning Officers for the city, increase as the boundaries move further out. Hmmmmm.

My tech doesn't think he can do the same job again next event. I finally was able to connect with him this weekend, you see. Confirming someone in that position was one of the tasks for this assignment, so it means I need to verify his second in command is available. We were both very impressed with his skills, so I hope he is willing to step up to the plate. The response that my tech sent me was a bit of a rant about the way Elections Canada treats us as employees. You see, his income tax reports were brought in to question too. The same as I mentioned to you about mine in March. He feels it is retribution from EC partly because of the work dome in our office that made the commons committee decide to investigate voter fraud. It is likely forcing them to rethink the way they build and maintain the voter's lists as well.

One would think that one would be thanked for keeping the system transparent and honest. That is critical if a democracy is to be maintained. Instead, not only are we punished for bringing it up, but again it signifies a lot of extra unpaid work being demanded of us. There are still several requests from their staff for me to do more follow up work, including purchasing more resources at my own expense. As you have seen, dear diary, if it isn't authorized even though the work is demanded it comes from my own pocket. I think not anymore. I realize there is an ethical imperative. I can guarantee you that it is causing a major tussle within me. I'm tired of being beaten down for doing the right thing though and I'm even more frustrated with having to pay for the "privilege". Elections Canada does that too often with impunity. Don't know how to deal with it even yet.

Emailed a couple more service providers and responded to questions from another Returning Officer as well. We are being told that we have to advise EC if we leave our homes for more than three days. Parliament is set to dissolve at the end of this week, so unless something causes a vote of non-confidence before Friday there is no need for it until the autumn when parliament reconvenes. We are not on retainer, so Ottawa has no right to demand immediate access to us.

My favorite astrologer is back from visiting England. His comments this week were about that Saturn power play going on and on and on. His advice this week was to not fight against "the man". Just play along for now. Given news about Korea and mother nature, that might be the best advice for most people right now. If it is somethng like my work experience now, I guess it means doing what is required by one's contract. I don't plan to buckle on issues of principle and due diligence but one does have to go through the hoops sometimes. Maybe my own ruling planet Uranus going retrograde will help - that deus ex machina thang, eh? I think I'll go do some Sufi meditation and amygdala work. Jupiter, my planet of increased income, starts moving forward in early July and that usually signals better money conditions. Maybe instead of trying to fly under the radar to get my current job done well, I should be focussing on finding something better. One can never tell. Good night dear diary.

�

previous - next

�

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats