Danny Kaye""href="http://www.diaryland.com" target="_top" title="Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com!" alt="Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com!" > contact me older entries newest entry

22:49 - 09.06.06
drums in the deep
I managed to get to bed about an hour earlier than usual last night. I was dreaming in stereo. An hour after that the cats as a group aggressively harassed me out of that very nice deep sleep. Those bullies. I realized as I came to wakefulness though, that I was really struggling to breathe. I can't say for certain whether I was about to suffer a major attack or not but one of the felines was wheezing too. Apparently they must have felt that being in that bedroom was not safe for some reason. Maybe there was something in the night air. I don't know. What I awoke thinking was that maybe that rapist was prowling about the house and the cats thought that being conscious was important. I went and worked on the computer after taking some anti-histamine trying to occupy myself until the cats deemed it safe to go back to sleep. Hmmmmmmmmm.

As it turned out I just stayed up though the night. Saw my youngest out the door and called the one agency to talk about the position they thought I might fill. Left a voice message then played telephone tag with them throughout the day. You see I had another full blown asthma attack and was sleeping when they returned my calls. I didn't even hear my phone ring.

I did manage to speak with two of my sisters though. One I had called to ask a favour. On the free trader network one woman was trying to get rid of a set of purple sheer curtains. How could anyone not want those. The terms of the gift were that they be picked up immediately. Given my physical state and the fact that the community she lives in is about a two hour commute by bus from my house I was hoping my sister wouldn't mind going two communities over in her daily travels. She had contracted what sounded like the Norwalk virus and was still not feeling well but she said she had to go out anyway and would do it for me. I left it at that just saying the curtains weren't that big of a deal - and they aren't just a "nice to have". So maybe I'll eventually have curtains for my windows or maybe not. It really doesn't matter that much. There are a lot worse things that can happen to people than their homes aren't as put together as they would like. Right?

It had been my other sister's birthday a couple of days ago so I had called her to see if her family had feted her properly on her special day. She said they had all teased her about the media hype about "the devil's number" but I just listed of some celebrities who shared her date of birth as well. Pretty cool group of people if you ask me, sister included. She was telling me that her hubby's friend who lives not far from me had had his home broken into. Apparently his neighbour noticed four young people forcing the screen doors and he called the police. They speculate that they were from the high school but it could be they are in a group who aren't even from this community too. Anyway the police managed to capture all four of the blighters, hey wot? Pretty impressive I think. Our police don't always have enough manpower, but they do a great job anyway. It didn't hurt either I guess that we have dedicated patrols for this area now that they are trying to catch that rapist. Apparently we are going to be getting some of their patrollers on bikes as well. Personally I'd rather see the horseback squad myself, being rather partial to their four footed staff but bikes will do just fine too. I was relaying that information to my youngest and his only comment was that he hoped they'd catch the ones dealing drugs as well. I had made the assumption that the break and ente thieves were one and the same as the dealers but I could be wrong I suppose. Just making the community an unsafe place to be bad is good enough for the time being. Justice can sometimes be aided just by being vigilant about the state of affairs in one's own community of interest.

Right now, before those bully cats get into the act again, I think I'll crawl into bed and try to get some sleep again. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats