Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:18 - 07.06.06
air quality alert
Take one cup of pollen and add an equal amount of herbicide. The result? Major asthma attacks for the past few days. I've been relatively safe inside my house - with the exception of yesterday. It could have been because I had too much exposure to both triggers the two days before I guess. The upshot was I wasn't able to sleep at all last night because I was fighting so hard to breathe. I hate it when I can't get it under control quickly. it was 8:30 am before I was able to bunk out for a bit. Bleagh.

As I was preparing my youngest's lunch I could hear three of the neighbours discussing how they were going to ask their employer for more money. I guess that the cost of living in this city makes everyone a bit stressed about making ends meet. There are even ads now and school programs that are aimed at getting prospective workers to consider that before rushing off to work in this province. I know from going downtown the past week that the ranks of the homeless are swelling out of control. Too many are people working at a job where the pay rate sounds great until one finds out how much something like renting a room actually costs per month. Sometimes the streets "paved with gold" is only of the fool's variety.

Once I woke up around noon I did more laundry and cleaned a very little since tolerance of dust isn't that great right now. Checked my Elections Canada email and found we are being asked to do another assignment. It's supposed to be completed within the month, but I haven't received it yet. Right now I'm living off my tax refund and it will tide me over for another month. If the hours are reasonable for this assignment, I guess that will cover off July. Hmmmmm. As long as I can meet my bills I am ok with not having other work. One job feels really weird though I must admit - there's so much time available. Now that I'm starting to feel better I might even be able to read some books, wash and paint the walls or something. Strange thought. Given the circumstances of many other people I am very grateful for the respite. Right now though I think I'll try sleeping through the night. That is another novelty and my body apparently likes that. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats