Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:46 - 05.06.06
chiron
I joined a new web community a while back, because it features groups of different faith and spiritual practices sharing their real life experiences. I've always wanted to know how belief translated into action with each system I've studied. It's that theory versus reality thang. When the rubber hits the road. They are sometimes mirror images, but normally there are substantial digressions that seem to be the indicators of "blind spots" or shadows. Last night, one of the groups was wrestling with one of those to the tune of about 200 sometimes very long entries.

The topic was racism. I think the full spectrum of thought that I've ever seen or heard, was expressed. What fascinated me was the level of respect given to each contributor no matter how diverse or inflammatory the comments. I guess it was an extension of what I have been posting to you, dear diary, as I was trying to decide whether to include some of the music videos I was enjoying on the chance that they might offend someone else. Truth is that regardless what one says or does, someone else isn't going to like it. Sometimes the reasons escape comprehension, because one simply knows nothing about the other person's perspective. So the question becomes, other than taking a vow of silence, what are reasonable guidelines when interacting with others. The "golden rule" is a reasonable start I suppose, but sometimes that won't work either because not everyone or every group of commonality wants or interprets the same gestures or words in the same way; nor does courtesy have the same meaning across all groups. The best advice I think I gained from the cumulative comments was to give others and their words/actions the benefit of the doubt and to focus on what I can say and do to move forward to better conditions in the future. No blaming and no projection. Tall order.

That was echoed, synchronistically, in the tv special "How William Shatner Changed the World" that I watched immediately after that exercise. Mr Shatner was talking about the social evolution that he felt was also part of Star Trek's contribution to society, in addition to really cool things like tricorders=PCs, scanners=MRIs, and communicators=cell phones. He attributed most of that legacy to the leadership to Gene Roddenberry, who simply was trying to visualize what humanity might evolve into once it grew up. Interesting. Mr Shatner is in our community right now to shoot his part in an upcoming movie about Mount Everest. Nice to know he's about.

From space travel to space exploration, the most interesting story today was an astronomy one about the planet Jupiter. It has "always" had one big red spot that was determined to be a raging storm. About six years ago a smaller storm center developed not far away. Apparently they have grown in such a way that they are about to make physical contact. It is estimated that July 4 will be a significant day for that meeting of energies. What is also curious is that there is an astrological event that seems to echo that merger on Wednesday when Venus is in opposition to Jupiter - maybe a trigger point that resolves itself on July 4. Conflagration or sparks flying to be sure. Synchronistically that circles back to that web community I joined. Jupiter, in astrology, rules the constellation of Sagittarius, sometimes also linked to Chiron the Centaur/healer. One of the groups is dedicated simply to exploring the inner nature of that one zodiac sign. Curious. Wouldn't it be cool if the astronomical event was the "star in the East" heralding a new breakthrough in medicine or social justice or ..... choose any positive Sagittarian trait; let's hope one of the shadow traits doesn't over-ride that.

Yesterday we celebrated a milestone birthday for my Dad. It was held at one of the large "natural" parks in our city, right on the river. Deer wandered through, as hawks flew overhead and fisherfolk tried their luck, togged up in hip-waders or fly fishing from the banks. That river is running high and fast right now, with that clean fresh energy that comes with late spring. Overhead a bright blue sky with cumulus clouds for decoration. All my sibs, most of our children, and most of my Dad's brother's family and my Mom's brother were able to make it for some of the time. It is hard to get everyone together at anytime, but this particular occasion was important to everyone I guess. It really hits home at events like this how much you miss some people. What also hits home is how deep those connections are when one can take up where things last left off; still feeling a closeness or intimacy that are the hallmark of true family and friendships. Some of the "newer" family are people I've only seen photos or heard stories about, but that wasn't a barrier on this day. I collected a lot of hugs and cuddles - my granddaughter, you know - and that will hold me for quite a while. I was always in awe of my cousins, partly because they were just that much older than me, they were very independent and outspoken and partly because they were males, mostly, and a total mystery to me coming from a family of females, mostly. I wanted to be just like them - except for the male part.

My aunt was a councillor for the city they lived in for many years. My aunt was one of my role models for a female who didn't toe anyone's line, but went with her own heart and gut. She is in her 80's now, but she was the only one in the family who clocked a hole in one while golfing last year. Two of my cousins are travelling to Scotland to golf with her this year to see if they can catch her up. One of the wives who I really admire had the story that was the biggest shock to the system. I was talking with her, asking about the stitching on both sides of her ankles. Having worked in a hospital, working with accident victims, I've learned to tell really great surgery from otherwise. I didn't realize how good a job it was until she casually threw out that the whole of her foot had been torn completely off. She was quite matter of fact about it, as she has been about many other adventures that would scare other people silly. She said the worst thing about it was the initial pain. No doubt. Given they live outside of an urban center, I could only guess at what had had to take place to get her to a surgeon who could re-attach all the ligaments, muscles and bones. A year later there is a fully functional, healthy foot with only the stitch scars for evidence of any disturbance. Truly amazing work. Have I mentioned that that one cousin's wife is also a role model I've always looked up to?

When I got home my youngest and I both decided naps were in order before dealing with supper. Partly because as we arrived home we were confronted with the sight of the nasty neighbour in the duplex one over and his wife having a major verbal battle outside. She had apparently loaded up their truck with her possessions and was telling him quite forcefully that she needed to get away from their home. It seemed prudent, given previous experience with them, to get in the house, lock the doors and lay low until their scrapping was done. One of the things that I am grateful for is that our gun laws reduce the potential for being a victim of someone else's insanity by about 80% if the studies of such things comparing Vancouver, Canada with Seattle in the US are accurate.

In addition to that motivator, I had been feeling quite queasy still from the stomach flu and besides that I was busy cuddling my granddaughter while visiting with each family member in turn, so why would I waste time eating in either setting - park or home. My youngest had bought a new toy for himself out of his last paycheque, so he might have really intended to have a nap, but more likely was busy playing with that new distraction while i was sleeping. Don't know, didn't check. He took the phone with him to his room so door number two seems more likely, right. Talking with his buddies who have the same toys? Anyway that meant I missed a call from my Dad later in the evening asking for information. It was while I was checking some facts first on the internet that I stumbled on that debate on xenophobia and so the return call had to wait until today.

The question? He and his neighbour, the ICU nurse, wanted to know how to make and use a mustard plaster. Could I call him back? I do have that information in several different folk medicine/herbal books I have collected over the decades, but I wanted to verify some things I've heard over time as I worked with other healers from various backgrounds checking through some internet sites. Mustard plasters are a bit tricky in that though they are very effective when used properly, they can also cause blistering and burns on the skin underneath the poultice. I wanted to see what methods other current practitioners use to mitigate against that risk and also to check that I had the best available recipe as well. It was a fascinating exploration for certain. Called my Dad back today and we spent a lot of time talking about not only mustard plasters, but a lot of other folk remedies as well. He doesn't often speak about his Mom, because her death is still a very traumatic event where he is concerned. She died two years, almost to the day, before I was born. He has often said that he sees her in me, and I think that is one of the reasons. As we were talking about using various remedies he started reminiscing about the way his Mom had gone about making and using them. That was a great gift for me I think. My Dad is really quite knowledgeable about some types of healing himself since that was part of his responsibility when working in remote wilderness areas decades ago. He has some pretty harrowing stories to tell himself and some pretty amazing ones too. Family ties I guess.

Other than that today was just dedicated to grocery shopping, walking for the exercise and housework - litter boxes and laundry. Hmmmmmmmm. Anyway time for bed now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats