Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:32 - 04.06.06
wizards
Mr Boots started it all today. He was in the dining room making a mournful noise. Went to check it out and found him sitting on the floor crying the blues, yes he was. When I asked him what was wrong that smarty cat batted at the electrical cord in front of him. It was unplugged. That cat wanted his fan turned on, right now if you please. How he knew that the fan not working was because of the disconnect from the wall socket I don't know. Maybe he was the one who knocked it out. As soon as I plugged it in he chirped and jumped up on "his" chair - right in line with the lovely little breeze that emanates from that unit. His sisters quickly took up their positions in the wake of the air stream and all was well in the world again.

Next up I was playing around with the Bollywood videos that I've already linked to in my posts, dear diary. My youngest wandered in to have a look at one and pointed at the venerable Ms. Kitty stretched out along the top of the mirror. Her ears were pricked forward and her tail was flicking in time with the music. What he had missed prior to his arrival was the sight of Ms Wildfire jumping in to my arms and purring loudly as I kept the beat with the music. Apparently she thought she was in cat heaven. Doesn't take much to amuse them, or me for that matter. Synchronistically the newsletter I receive from the Middle East popped up and there was a story about a woman and a cat being taken into custody for questioning about their practice of witchcraft. What was intersting about the article is what it revealed about the Islamic culture's beliefs about animals.

Another few news articles left me a bit bemused. This one about a special type of cloud - noctilucent - surprised me because we see them all the time in the night sky. Who knew they were rare? In one of our Atlantic provinces a grassroots organization is actively helping people avoid being exposed to the toxic soup of cancer causing chemicals found in everyday products by providing information on their website. See the power of one, plus one, plus one.... Join in. Then there was this very pragmatic answer to the problem of obesity that might be a great tool for every city in North America. This reminded me of the power of one too. That one young man standing in front of the tank in Tiananmen Square 17 years ago today. I've talked about my experience the next day as co-chair of the local Amnesty International group in my posts. That was when I first realized how powerful a tool the web could be in breaking the stranglehold of those abusing their power any place in the world. It was also breath taking in the sense that one could actually hear the words and reports of eye witnesses to those crimes of a corrupt entity without any filters imposed at all. Hard to say when critical mass will occur but the Berlin Wall did finally fall didn't it? Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats