Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:29 - 03.06.06
storyline
It is still very warm at this time of the evening/morning. The weatherman promised rain and a cooling off at about this time and I'm still waiting. Silly I know, but it's hard to sleep when it's so hot. Add in the news reports the past couple of days and it seems wiser to sleep during the day.

You remember, dear diary, I mentioned a rape in the community a month or two ago. Well now there are two recorded incidents as well as at least one additional attempt. That is worrisome enough, but it is the way the police are handling it that has thrown me even more. You see usually they try to downplay the "serial" part of the reporting, as in "two incidents do not a serial rapist make". Yet they have not rebutted the media reports like they normally do. The last incident was a day ago yet they have gone to the trouble of having this person's DNA analyzed already. That usually takes at least a week, but they already have the results back. They've also already checked the DNA results against the records of known predators who are out of jail but believed to be in our city eliminating those primary suspects en masse. It is the speed and the openess that are spooking me, I think because it isn't the normal approach the police have.

It seems to me that there is something about this person that is causing them to be very concerned. The reports say the perpetrator has threatened his victims with a knife, but none has been produced. The offender is odd in the way he does his thing too. No attempt to conceal his identity, so that the police have gotten good descriptions from all three victims. A sketch was released after the first incident in March. He doesn't seem to mind that there are a lot of other people around either. All three incidents happened near a very busy strip mall and heavily populated housing. Two of the incidents happened while people were heading off to work near bus stops and just out of sight of busy streets, while the third took place just after midnight in a walkway between streets. From the description of the person it would seem logical that they are or were recently a student at the separate senior high school that is a few blocks from the mall which is heavily patronized by students attending there. The offender seems to be just going about his daily routine and then just decides to attack in that process. There has been no comment from any source about students or teachers coming forward with information and I suppose that could be or their protection. However, it seems as though the person might feel that they are untouchable in some way since they don't seem to take any diversionary action at all. That would imply a person who is deeply embedded in a community that feels their reputation as they perceive it is more important than stopping a criminal attack. When my home was broken in to the police told me that there was a break and enter ring as well as a drug dealing operation being run out of that school. Yet they said they could gain no co-operation from the administrators around their investigations. When my son was being threatened at his junior high the same thing was happening and it wasn't until parents threatened to bring the police in by lodging complaints that they did anything about the ring of bullies who were shaking down a lot of the students in that school. Again links to that high school were evident. The fact that police have warned women in this commmunity to take extra precautions including not walking about on their own is very disturbing. Don't know what to think. Does the composite sketch remind me of anyone? Police say it is likely someone who lives in the community. I'm not sure. There is supposed to be a more accurate rendition being drawn now and I think I'll wait to see that before I react to it. One doesn't want to falsly accuse anyone either do they.

Anyway still no rain but I'm tired enough that I think I'll be able to sleep now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats