Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:09 - 01.06.06
picking up the pace
My entry was a bit brief last night, but it was because I was preparing for a job interview, you see. I wanted to be certain that I had all the bits and pieces I needed assembled, before I went to bed. I also wanted to be certain I had done my research on the employer. Good thing I checked. There are two postings that are for very similar organizations, both of which are not in the industry that I normally am assigned too. At least not in the regular sense. For one thing, both are Non-government organizations. That means not for profit, but with a focus on improving conditions sometimes created as a side-effect of that one industry. I had mixed some of the skills and goals descriptions up and needed to rethink my responses. Otherwise that interview today would have been a disaster.

Unlike most times, I was quite nervous going in to the interview because the work is the same, but there is an entirely different set of values driving the process. That changes the goals almost 180 degrees. That wasn't a problem in itself, because they are more aligned with my own anyway. What I needed to do, though, was clear any preconceptions or expectations out of my mind that might underlie a regular interview. I also tried to be very careful that I didn't fall into using the regular industry jargon or terminology. What I needed to say had to be more from the heart and less from the production focus that is the usual requirement. That is a very scary thing for someone like me. I don't reveal that very often, but I really wanted a chance at this post. Things went along very well and there was even some discussion initiated by the two interviewers toward the end of the session about how to accommodate some of the issues I had raised from a personal perspective. For example, this was posted as a part-time position. I was upfront and noted that I would likely have to get a second part-time job in order to cover my monthly expenses. There is no point me going to work if I can't even do that now, is there. The two were asking about other tasks they had that I might be willing to do, that would expand the role to an eventual full time position. The sticking point came when the salary expectations were discussed. I think I might have lost the position there. I had calculated beforehand how much per hour I needed to make just to cover off the basic living expenses monthly, without even allowing for a cushion for emergencies or one shot expenses like insurance. NGOs don't have a lot of cash for salaries, because funders and donors want to see the bulk of their donations go to the end goals. I understand that, but I need to feel secure that at the end of the day I can put food on the table too. Don't know how that will work out. Sigh. I did explain that I would be willing to take less than my normal hourly wage if I could travel less or telecommute. Don't know if they can swing that financially or not since I'm guessing that what they have to work with financially is less than what I need to survive. I'm guessing that they planned the position for someone who had another breadwinner in their home. Just not how it works for me.

It was a warm day so I decided to walk home from the train station. That way I could double up on things and get some exercise time in too, you see. I forgot that I had pantyhose on. The bane of my existence, if you really wanted to know. If I had been thinking ahead, I could have ducked into a powder room downtown and removed them there, but I made my decision on impulse. Even with a long skirt I wasn't about to try that operation anywhere out on the street. Just not ladylike, is it? I thought that I was going to melt by the time I actually reached home. Oh well. It would be fine if some of that stubborn stuff on the tummy would melt off, but it doesn't seem to work that way. My youngest was already home by the time I walked in the door. About an hour later, number three son arrived. An hour after that number one son joined the group and we had supper and a good visit all around. The two older boys left together around 9:30 pm and now I think it's time for bed. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats