Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:29 - 31.05.06
moving on
My youngest was commenting on some of the instruments that are used in Bollywood/Bhangra music. To help him see what instruments were used I found this concert footage when I searched under ghazal - the Persian form of the art. It was a form of music I had encountered many years ago when I worked with a survivor of torture from the Middle East. She loved the poetry and I have to agree it is extraordinary. Ghazal influenced Freddy Mercury whose parentage was Parsi. While I was watching the concert, I kept searching for a glimpse of Ry Cooder. It sounded very much like the cuts from his album Meeting by the River. He wasn't there of course. The music also reminded me of some Sufi music I had listened to the day before out of Spain with the leader of the chants from Scotland for heaven sake. I recalled then that Spain had been invaded and occupied by the Muslims giving them beautiful architecture like that seen in Granada. Hmmmmmmmm music really is a universal language all it's own isn't it?

Not much else to say tonight. Think I'll go star gazing instead. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats