Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:08 - 29.05.06
balancing chakras
Have a moment of silence with those who are observing Memorial Day, dear diary.

Just housework and grocery shopping today, dear diary. My youngest and I took a bit of a walk first before shopping. It was a bit cool, but I prefer it that way. I spent some time looking at more of the Asian music scene. It is very diverse, but today I was looking at Bhangra. It derives from the folk music of northern India as far as I can figure it out. Not speaking the language does act as a barrier to understanding sometimes. I was looking at the evolution of that to the current Bollywood form of the genre. I had wondered if it would be a good cross over to current hip hop culture in North America. One thing I really like about East Indian music and film is that there is a healthy dose of humour it that is missing in our cinema here - that irreverence that allows satire without being mean about it.

The one other bit of interesting news on the net tonight was about censorship on the internet and the attempts of many governments to control and intimidate their citizens. The action suggested by Amnesty International was really interesting and I think I'll be researching that issue more tomorrow. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats