Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:44 - 22.05.06
Breather
It was hot again today, dear diary. I did work about the house, but slowly. I don't know what was blowing in the wind, but it took about an hour of hard work to get my asthma under control around noon. Tired me out. As a result I just did laundry mostly and a bit of cleaning. My youngest spent a good part of the day off with his buddy bowling, so I decided that tomorrow would be better for the heavier work I had hoped to accomplish. We'll see though - it's supposed to be even hotter tomorrow.

It was strange though. There is this joke making the rounds about a senior waking up and thinking they have died because they don't notice any of their regular aches or pains. I had one of those moments myself when I woke up from a mid-afternoon siesta today. Not only was there no pain, but it felt as though my body was actually purring with content. I think the last time that happened was in the mid-'80's; 1980's that is. I definitely thought I was dead. It isn't as though anything radical has changed either. All that is different is that I've rested at home for some months living off that election money. Just odd, but I liked it.

I got a call from one staff member today asking for a reference. It is one of the people who I really feel comfortable recommending as an employee, but I wasn't completely happy either. Each time someone really good gets full time employment that is one less person I can rely on in my office. It's a chronic problem. I can't blame anyone for wanting a better wage and a more predictable schedule though. I wouldn't mind one myself for that matter. As it turns out this is a temporary position. Maybe the timing will work out so that they'll be ready to come back a do another stint for me when the time comes. Selfish aren't I?

While I worked I listened to Much Music. A special on Boy Bands that was just reeking with jealousy. Why even bother if all one is going to do is a string of putdowns. Some of the bands wouldn't be ones I even would consider in that category - like the Osmonds for heaven's sake -, but it seemed a particular producer was the actual focus of the show but for some reason they really didn't want to come out and say so. Just odd. I don't think I'll ever understand the music industry. There was also a special showcasing James Blunt's music. Apparently he was the best new artist from MTV's 2005 Europe awards. I checked out his website and it appears he has shifted a bit in his presentation. I seemed to hear a cross between the Bee Gees and The Who as I listened and it was very good. Not that the music that got him voted best new artist by the fans was bad, it was great actually, but this was more mature. That's a good thing too.

After that I watched Thunderheart for the umpteenth time. I love the shaman and Val Kilmer is like a chameleon, isn't he. He plays so many different roles yet does them all well and convincingly. A real actor I guess. While I was watching I sat with my archetypes book colouring the Hierophant. The editor chose to use the Chiron/Sagittarius image for that mythic character and I found most of the colours I chose had a gold, orange or red aspect to them. The crusader and the benefactor. Maybe it's because Jupiter will be heading in to that sign by November therefore, that element of happiness and growth is about to come into my life having Sagittarius as my natal ascendant. The other colour that was strong, even though in small amounts, was a particular type of green. The type one sees in aurae of healers or in healing energies. Oh yes - Chiron, the wounded healer. That's another story too. Anyway time for bed I think. Maybe I'll wake up thinking I'm dead again - in a good way of course. We'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats