Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:11 - 14.05.06
resting
Baked salmon, tzatziki and fresh veggies (snow peas, carrots, and mushrooms)were my contribution to the family's buffet today. My Dad swung by around noon today to pick my youngest and I up. He handed my youngest a ping pong paddle to take to work with him. Secret weapon I guess. I think the company he works for has a foosball table as well as the ping pong table but it appears that most of his co-workers prefer to relax on their breaks by playing ping pong. Good enough.

My Dad took a rather circuitous route to my sister's home down by the reservoir. Not sure why but he was asking a lot of questions both about my assignments in the industry I usually work in as well as the current ones for the election. I told my tales of woe about hunting for an office and the problems with the local rep. After I had sent off the three reports detailed in our written instructions she demanded several more reports all of which were redundant. If head office - who micro-manage anyway - don't need them then they aren't necessary for her either. Especially not when I've long used up the hours allocated for the job. I did email head office to request an extension based on the amount of hours I thought the extra work might take, but I'm not doing that extra work for free. In the past when that happened not only was there no acknowledgement of all the extra time and effort I put in but often there was a demand that even more free time be given. I'm not playing that game any more.

Arrived at my sister's home and spent the afternoon cuddling that new granddaughter while mom and dad took a break to socialize and to enjoy their meals in peace. I hadn't realized how very much I missed having a baby or toddler to play with. My brother-in-law and sister love rhythm and blues so that baby and I sang along - quietly - with BB King and Lucille as well as many other R & B luminaries. Read cards for my sisters but had to watch my tongue. That advice from my favorite astrologer last week (Aquarius sun) and this week (Sagittarius rising)was most helpful both with things electoral and familial - especially the card reading, bite one's tongue and be discerning not judgemental right? I'm still trying to figure out the Mercury retrograde message though - that isn't until July.

I had remembered to bring my cousin's niece's letter to the editor with me as I had promised her. Although everyone there understood her point they didn't want to deal with it. As a group their political orientation is very different from mine and there are times where they feel it is ok to express theirs in mutual admiration but they do not want to hear mine. Whatever. I have no quarrel with anyone holding different opinions and values than mine - I live in a community where at least 40% of the people are of Asian, Latin, Middle Eastern or African descent after all - but I find it very hard to be respectful of that when it is obvious that absolutely no research has gone into those opinions. The refusal to give up stereotypes and long dead myths for reality is often times what destroys a society or culture in the end. Playing with shadows while the real world sneaks up from behind. Oh well I know I have my blind spots too. All in all it was still a pleasant day. By 4:30 I was back home. Worked on election stuff - yes even without the extra hours approved - and sent it off to the local rep. Yeah I know - no backbone. Anyway time for bed. I'm tired. Good night dear diary.

�

previous - next

�

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats