Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:55 - 07.05.06
exercises
If dreaming affects the waking body, then I can explain why losing weight is so difficult. Last night all the dreams were about food - the comfort type you know. Doughnut holes and ice cream to be specific. I can't recall the details, other than I seemed to be involved in organizing a childrens' event with a bunch of other parents. The doughnut holes were Timbits - the staple of all school and office treats. One can pick them up fresh with any topping one could think of that would normally be on a doughnut. At Tim Hortons they serve them up in dozen and up boxes and one can have mix and match so as to please any taste. They are considerably less expensive than a box of regular doughnuts and yet provide as much hip-swelling fried batter as the doughnuts themselves. The ice cream seemed to be in a different sequence of dreams. A family vacation to a mountain park or some such venue. A stop at a scenic view and an argument over which kind of ice cream to buy - cone or cup, milkshake or sundae, chocolate or... see I woke up hungry as a result. Luckily I don't often keep that type of food in the house, so I just made do with my veggie drink and some cheese. Sensible - that's me.

Yesterday my youngest and I went out walking. I had planned for an hour, but we ended up taking three hours to finish our errands. I love my sandals. Walked across two communities to get to the Tim Hortons - to buy their canned coffee - we'd run out. While we were there I grabbed a salad and my youngest had a burger. We didn't sit for longer than it took to eat our treats, talking about things election while we munched. I think a couple of people who worked with us were nearby so we needed to be very careful about what was said. No talk of security/personnel, for example. Just common sense not to do that in public anyway though. Next up we wandered over to the big box store to buy a toaster. The one I have now was the one I got for a wedding gift a very long time ago. My youngest was marvelling at its durability, but lately it has been shooting off sparks whenever it's been activated. The replacement was very inexpensive at that big box store which is why I had chosen that route for our constitutional. My youngest found some "ancient" videos in a sale bin of the young adult genre - Bill and Ted and such - for a couple of dollars apiece so we came home with entertainment too. Station!

Arrived home to find what he really wanted was to listen to more of the Lord of the Rings story anyway. We're at the part where Frodo and Sam first meet and take counsel with Faramir in Ithilien - just before they try to enter Mordor via Shelob's lair. As a result I didn't post to you last night. Not only because of the time taken for the walk and reading, but also because our computer has been virused or hacked into again. Every time I've powered up the past few days the message comes up that we're out of disk space. When I've deleted different downloads, the message then comes up that there is even less space. When I've checked for what is taking up that space it appears that the temp folders are full of cookies. Those seem to replicate faster than I can delete them. I activated the one option where I can reject all third party cookies. That seems to help somewhat, but I think it also means that some websites are blocking access based on that choice. Some of the places I visit on a fairly regular basis are coming up blank or with error messages. In addition, the keyboard won't operate properly and there are multiple copies of the same email arriving to fill up my in box from a couple of the people who regularly send me messages. I do have a couple of security systems and a firewall in place, but nothing seems to be helping. Frustrating all around, but that explains what I was doing last night rather than writing to you dear diary.

The cats are acting odd again - hiding and acting as though they are a bit spooked or going a little crazy or needing more cuddling than is usual for them. There have been more incidents where the doors have been tried while my youngest was off working. There is garbage from somewhere else loaded in my backyard even though my six foot high fence is gated and secured. Today both locks on the front door were open and the door was slightly ajar when we came back from grocery shopping. The cats were all hiding and only came out slowly when they heard our voices. The reno place called last week to let me know they are ready to do the next phase of repairs on the house. I think replacing the doors with higher security products will be my first priority. Thank goodness for that line of credit. I may be paying it off until I'm 84, but I have no other way of affording to do the work.

My friend who is a gardener is picking me up on Tuesday so we can talk about how to proceed with my yoga garden, but that is something that will have to wait until I am employed again. It was very tempting though when we were at the big box store. Gargoyles, pagodas, fountains and buddhas all waiting to provide the ambience of a contemplative quiet space just outside my windows. Maybe that should be in my dreams instead, eh? Much less fattening. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats