Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:14 - 01.05.06
preparation
The wind was making the cats really edgy today. They kept taking turns crawling into my lap fussing about it. Truth be known, it bothered me too. Just one of those eerie crying winds that make you shiver - but not from the cold. Yesterday the temperatures were in the mid 70's F/20's C. It was a bit muggy too. Extra humidity I guess, but also the smoke from several grass fires in the prairies surrounding the city. Today the thermometer dropped to the freezing mark and there was that wind. If I hadn't known better I would have sworn we were in for a very violent storm. At one point I glanced out the kitchen window and saw ice crystals sleeting down toward the ground. Still, none of those factors account for the strangeness of the day. The clouds were odd too as was the colour of the sky. Don't know what to think. If it hadn't been for the cats I would have just put it down to the nightmares I've been having. Bleagh.

Be that as it may, I did get those deck chairs onto the balcony and that added a bit of colour to the backyard. The bushes and trees round about my yard are greening up nicely too. The Wishing Well that my Dad's neighbour passed on to me really does set off the open space now that that fence defines that space. I found the grass rake underneath some of the election boxes, so I guess if the weather doesn't do anything stranger than today, I can get the yard into shape sometime this week. Later in the day when the howling outside had stopped, my youngest and I went for our weekly grocery shopping. We don't really buy anything extravagant, but the cost of the groceries is depressingly high. Oh well, enjoying eating is one thing that should not be taken lightly is it? Savour the small gifts and pleasures in life. Nurturing the body has gone out of style, but since I've decided to simplify and clean out the clutter in all aspects of my life it seems that those basics are now regaining their proper place in my routine. Look after the essentials and everything else will fall into place right? If not, at least those essentials are met. That is a blessing.

Anyway I have a fairly busy day and week ahead and I still am needing to build on my newly returning strength. Did you notice I managed to get out of the house four days last week, dear diary. Contrast that with almost two months of being housebound. Maybe things are getting better now. Happy Beltane!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats