Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:46 - 22.04.06
Win some, lose some
I'm sitting and listening to my iPod as I post to you, dear diary. I can understand how seductive the use of it is. As I listen to a favorite techno piece I can feel the music vibrate through my whole body and out through my palms and the soles of my feet. Kind of like a jolt of electricity but with rhythm. If I can find a piece that vibrates out of the crown chakra does that count for kundalini meditation? Hmmmmm. For people afflicted with Parkinson's disease it may also serve as a cure if this research is correct. However, this young man who's comment "Dude you just got hit by a train" might also serve as a warning to the downside of lyrical immersion, eh? I think the greatest danger for me - or at least the people around me - is that I may not be able to avoid singing out loud. Oh well, that might be a good way to clear a room without lifting a finger. What's on the playlist now is a mix of my youngest's and my own choice of music. When my older sons were still at home, it was one of my parenting techniques to listen to their music - with commentary to follow. To have one voluntarily submit their choices for my consideration is somewhat unique. In defence of my older boys though, I had to take the physical CD away with me so they were missing part of their "wardrobe" for a day or two - so to speak, or hear, actually. Less psychological damage than when they were small and I spent some time every day dancing with them. Usually a baby - or two - perched on each hip. Well isn't that what they're there for - the hips that is? Now all I have to do is sneak my "geek factor" CD collection on and we'll be set. Of course then there's nothing to stop me from dancing down the street either - is there. Nope checked the bylaws. Now all I need to do is figure out how to work in the veil and hip scarf.

The rest of the day? Well first, Happy 80th Birthday to Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II. May you enjoy many more in peace and pleasure.

As more and more games of "I double dog dare you" rage in parliament I am slowly contacting key people who worked for me last election to see if they will be available on short notice for another go at an election. Some are already contacting me as well. So far most are open to the idea depending on the timing. Can't ask for more than that. More calls and e-mails about things financial too. One of the problems we had last event was that the political parties were sending a lot of the people they wanted to use as scrutineers in the polling station on voting day to our training classes for polling day staff. This isn't legal of course - subsidizing their campaign funding by paying their "volunteers" for training through a government of Canada budget. Of course, they weren't telling us what they were doing - that our classroom time and space was being hijacked to their campaign tactics. There are very stringent guidelines on how much each candidate can spend. Reporting must include all sources and amounts of funding. This is intended to improve the fairness of the contests. I can't speak to how much better that makes the races, but the interference and obstruction of our ability to do our job when those phony students took up space in our classes then called in at the last minute - if they called at all - to say they won't work polling day is a major issue both from a financial and logistical standpoint. It may not sound like much, but take 100 campaign volunteers times $35 - equals $3500 out of my operating budget times 308 electoral districts equals $1,071,180. That's a big theft of taxpayer dollars, as well as fraud. For those trainees in my electoral district who didn't provide a good reason for not working polling day the training fee was forfeit and they were told that upfront in the classes. However now the calls are coming in from some of them demanding payment. Sorry, but I had list kept for me of the miscreants - time won't erase the transgression. At least not financially. As you can recall dear diary, I had to spend a lot of hours begging for enough money to cover my legitimate payroll, this is a complication that I hope to not let get out of hand. The last task today was grocery shopping and now I'm done. Good Night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats