Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:16 - 14.04.06
Shadowland
It's been an eventful day, although on the surface nothing happened. I spent most of it working on pre/post event election work. A bit schizophrenic, I know. Researching the questions asked of me by Ottawa, then corresponding back and forth with various people. Some really surprising finds on both ends and all that before 10:30 this morning. Just in time for that Libra full moon - revelations on Maundy Thursday yet. The balance of the day dealing with the fallout.

I had another one of those seeing auras, just-shoot-me weather migraines that had begun the evening before and reached a crescendo between about 11:30 this am and which didn't subside until about 2:30 this pm. Too much pain to try and lie down so as to sleep through it, so I worked through it instead. As long as I didn't move my head I was fine. Right. The cats felt sorry for me and were extra cuddly. Contrast that to yesterday when they were being brats. You know sticking their bums in my face from unexpected angles, sitting on the monitor of this computer and using their tails to cover the screen so I couldn't read and doing their best to wrap themselves around my ankles every step of the day so that I was constantly tripping, then trying to catch my balance. Not even bribes seemed to deter them. Instead I would find the treats I gave them when my moccasins mysteriously moved from hiding in my closet to under the kitchen table. They were using the shoes to hide their toys in, then using them as shuttlecocks in some wild game of their own invention. Oh well, I'm glad one of us - the feline species I mean - is amused.

I find our new governing federal and some of the provincial parties very confusing in their strategic planning as it were. On the one hand there appears to be some very good thinking going on with the appropriate action to follow through. Yet on the other hand there is this draconian suppression of information going on that is very visible and incredibly scary. The dumbest thing about telling this scientist that he can't even promote his own novel is that the Canadian Broadcasting Company - CBC - has already created a movie very much on the same lines - that one I've written about before - H2O using the exceptional talents of Paul Gross for it. Water - potable and safe - is and will one of the major global issues for a long time to come.

The measures being used to hide what the government is doing are reminiscent of a banana republic and speak to a level of paranoia that I don't even indulge in, and I admit to some very wild ones - according to my family anyway. That bunker built in Ottawa during the cold war is a lot like the Maginot Line in Europe during World War II. Obsolete. I can't recall exactly, but I think when the Germans invaded France they simply walked around the fences built at tremendous cost in just under two days. That false sense of security on the part of the Allies meant that no other form of resistance in France - other than the Maquis - had been prepared. Are we as a society going to be that oblivious again? I'm guessing that the forests that the Germans walked through rang with their laughter as they passed. Those who fail to study history are doomed to repeat it. And now that pesky migraine is back. Oi. I think I need to try to sleep again so that I can order my thoughts in a way that makes more sense. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats