Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:15 - 09.04.06
images
Grocery shopping was the big event today, simply because I managed to get there and back again without the use of either my inhaler or antihistamines needed. My lungs still felt crampy walking there, but it was rush hour after all. There had been an article about a certain new alternate health product that helped people with weakened lungs and immune systems. One of the Canadian sports personalities who is well known here allowed that he had suffered from debilitating rounds of bronchitis ever since he was young and found it helped him immensely. It was tested out on a national hockey team as well. Found it on the shelves on sale so decided to give it a try. I do seem to have a bit more energy and that is enough to be going on with I suppose. The other odd thing I picked up was Milk Thistle. I have dreams about it for the past few nights with a very strong pressure to use it myself. As far as I know it is for strengthening and healing the liver. It wouldn't be something I would consciously choose for myself, but when the subconscious is that emphatic I guess it doesn't hurt to listen. It was on sale too, so that made the decision easier. Other than that we just stocked up on lunch things for my youngest for work. Got to keep his strength up - right? Just before we left the house, I finally remembered to get the one-shot camera I'd picked up about a month ago. Took photos of the height of our hedges in the front yard with my youngest for the yardstick. It obviously amused a group of what appeared to be a new set of females moving in a couple of houses down. They looked a little older than my youngest, but not by much. It also apparently piqued the interest of the neighbours across the street. They tried to catch my eye - I think, not having my contact lenses in - but there really isn't much to say. The neighbours in the duplex right next to us having been outside fighting the past two evenings around 3 in the am, so damage to property by them was what reminded me to get the pictures before it is too late.

I had an odd dream early this morning. In it my supervisor from one contract ago - over one year ago - showed up at my home for a visit. He appeared to be about seven years old and his Mom had brough him over to be looked after. At seven he was really cute. One of those slender little live wires who can't sit still. Thick curly dark hair with a curl in the middle of his forehead. It was obvious he hated it, but he wasn't going to cross his mom - uh uh. My home in the dream seemed to be a split level bungalow. Just varying heights to the different rooms/levels with a few steps leading up or down. We went into a room just off to the right of the front door and found it was a play/ rec room full of toys. I seemed to have a house full of my own children as I do now, although not the same ones as I have now. They were all about that age range too - pre-school to elemetary school age - and appeared to be good friends. He hadn't been to our home before, but decided he liked it based on the comfort of familiar faces and those toys in the playroom. His favorite among a bunch of ride on animal figures was a hippopotamus. It was quite real looking in miniature. Then the cats decided it was time to play catch the mice - my toes - in real time and I woke up. Can't imagine what that signifies. Maybe it is connected to the new exhibit being created in the zoo of "animals of the Arctic". I am still wondering how an authentic recreation of permafrost and muskeg, not to mention temperatures that others would consider -well arctic - are going to be replicated here in the "south" but engineering wonders are a specialty aren't they?

Got up and checked the JK Rowling site to see if our "Test Results" had arrived by owl. They had indeed. The allowed time for the exam was 25 minutes, but my youngest and I had run through the questions in less than half of that. We didn't look up anything, just gave it our best guess. Our mark was "exceeds expectations" which isn't bad, since we were being asked to remember minute details about obscure wizarding laws and practices from about 3000 pages of material. Apparently one of the fan sites provided information on how to enter the secret door and offered up cheat sheets for those who wanted to use them. It seems that one could take the exam more than once too. Found out about that today when I was trying to find a copy of the questions just to try and figure out what answers we'd missed. I'm not sure why one would go to all that trouble since it is just meant to be for fun, but whatever.

Between Friday night and Saturday morning, there was a direct opposition between Mr Mars and Mr Pluto astrologically, in the signs of Gemini and Sagittarius respectively. Smoldering anger and confrontation between the gods of war and the underworld. Think nuclear meltdown. This story in the news this morning sort of summed it up or is the typical interpretation of what the aspect implies. Then on the TV news tonight a similar story but with a creative twist - a new sport evolving out of an old one. "Hockey fighting". My youngest was laughing uproariously as it was being demonstrated and debated. Some times hormones just can't be overcome by any parenting techniques. That Y chromosome at work. The premise of the sport is that the puck is removed from the game and all that is undertaken is the fighting that sometimes seems to be all that happens anyway. Yes well, not much better but at least no deaths. It will likely be a big money maker for the sponsors although the one fellow complained it might over-shadow boxing as a sport. What a shame. There were a lot of other stories about direct agression and power over others in the news as well and that was depressing. Maybe the best use of that energy - other than a whirlwind house cleaning - was this one about the restitution of a woman's reputation long after whe was torured and murdered here in Canada for a crime she didn't commit and the stopping of a similar hanging mobs actions on the streets of one of our sister cities yesterday. Yes actually the courts do often know best. At lest the give everyone some chance to speak their piece. The best one though is this one about actually compensating the victims of an abuse of systemic power. See even the worst aspects can be turned to good if the conditions for retrieving the balance of power are created.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats