Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:18 - 07.04.06
Disconnect
Beginning and ending with Mother Nature today. I checked out this web cam of a couple of nesting bald eagles on Hornby Island. The odd thing was it was as though the mother who was padding her nest with moss as I watched, seemed to be aware that she was being observed. She kept stopping her work, turning and staring directly into the camera. I know eagles are supposed to be able to see for milles, but through a camera lens too?

There was an odd story out of our left coast a couple of days ago and I needed to think about it before I commented. The riddle is what do Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein, Bill Gates and Walt Disney all have in common. They all did poorly in school and left before they had the "qualifications" to hold the positions they eventually secured. In fact teachers for both Einstein and Edison swore that they would never become more than labourers. On the other hand do you really want someone with minimal training carrying out major surgery on you or someone you care about? The man suing the university in this story has multiple degrees to be sure but doesn't appear to have produced anything out of that advantage. The person who got the job he applied for has several awards and published books even though she "just" has a high school degree. Which one would you want for a teacher? From some of his comments it seemed as though the thing he objected to most was the gender of the person rather than their qualifications. JK Rowling, by the way has a degree in French language because thought it would help her be a better secretary. She says she was terrible regardless. Uh huh. Sometimes our expectations of others based on past traditions result in an appalling waste of human capital. Michelangelo's family disowned him for not going into the family business as a banker. Nothing wrong with bankers but .......... In other news about work and gender this article from Australia sums up what I have learned is fact in the workplace. Two issues involving that were part of my work scene as you may recall in my assignments that lead to me leaving that one agency over a year ago. I had hoped after the incidents that launched me on the path I started working on in 2000 that I would be able to say it was just an anomaly. Apparently even one the other side of the world upside down women still find the same thing.

One more note on those cartoons that caused such an uproar in the Middle East and Europe. I thought that this article was very thoughtful and might have the seeds of resolution in it. A really simple concept called start with the truth.

Last but not least are these stories that might explain more about evolution in a way that one living today might get a front row seat about evolution present as displayed in this ocean study and in the past by this fish fossil. Maybe it works both ways when it comes to the cusp of a black hole. All I know is that I spent all day listening to "The Magic Bus" running through my head. What's that all about?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats