Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

04:13 - 31.03.06
rock on
Not much to say tonight dear diary. Lots of phone calls to family, more study on different ways to fix the house. All time consuming and productive but just one foot in front of the other really. That old adage whilst studying different environmental and construction issues about realizing just how little one knows. It is a bit overwhelming. I'm hoping it is like a snowball where when the knowledge reaches a certain mass I'll actually be able to piece it all together properly. Oh well one is supposed to keep learning new things if one wants to keep ones mind healthy.

My youngest and I chatted in passing throughout the day. Reading The Half Blood Prince we are and the conversations flow in and around different beliefs and philosophies stemming from that as well as conversations with family and friends. His girlfriend chided him for whistling after dark for example. That ended up being a protracted discussion about mythologies and faith systems. Dreams were the other topic as were are both experiencing a lot of intense ones right now - not surprising given astrological conditions though. Staying open and just witnessing what is is a challenge.

A call from Elections Canada again today. Still on about the handicap accessibility issue. Apparently that one person just won't let it go. The caller said she had finally called the Multiple Sclerosis society to verify that they had used the office one suite down from us and they confirmed they had. I have heard several lengths of stay mentioned, but the building manager had said it was around a decade. The complainer insisted that they had moved because the building was unsuitable for people with disabilities but the society confirmed with EC that they had moved because they needed much more space. They went from having a quarter of a floor to having an entire floor instead. It is true that they also now are on a main floor which is great for all concerned but that has more to do with having enough funds as much as anything else. I went through all the steps I had gone through in order to find main floor space including the fact that up until October I had booked an office on the main floor of the building we were in for that very purpose. However that suite was rented by long term tenants who wanted it immediately. The fact still remains though that the second floor suite we had was considered fine by the MS society for a long period of time and I quite honestly had no other options. I reminded the caller that I had tried working through the federal governments' public works office as well since that is one of their mandates. Even with all their connections and muscle they couldn't find anything else for me either. Felt my blood pressure going up by the end of the call, but I can't let this kind of thing bother me either. It wasn't the caller's fault either she was doing her best to be kind. I remember the gentleman well who was disabled and I wish he could be in better condition too, but the reality is I can't possibly cater to the exact needs of each and every individual voter in the community - the taxpayers of the country expect some restraint when spending their money and I also need to respect that. Some days doesn't matter what you do someone is going to hate it. C'est la vie, eh.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats