Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:25 - 29.03.06
ecliptic
The solar eclipse should be passing over Africa as I post to you, dear diary. Moving from 8 to 9 degrees in the astrological and sabianly symbolled constellation of Aries. It implies, by the symbols, that sudden revelations/insights occur and that endings or new beginnings happen as a result. Sort of like a sentry in old times watching from the castle walls. One moment the outlying fields are empty and peaceful. Next moment they are filled with a beseiging army. Birnum wood comes to Dunsinane. Or a positive change might be that of a tourist walking down a sunny village street, turning a corner and meeting their soul mate or arriving in time to meet the sovereign of the land who invites them in to tea. Well it could happen. Or it could be an audience of theater lovers seeing the premiere of what will become one the the greatest plays ever. All things are possible. Things hidden in plain sight.

I was still processing a bit of shocking information last night when I posted to you. One of the young women who started school in kindergarten with number two son was in the obituaries I read, just before starting my story for the night. Wasn't ready to even think about it then. That year they started school her Mom and I were president and vice president of the ECS parent council. We both had given birth to another child the May before. At that time, a workshop was provided at the end of May to prepare parent council executives for the tasks we would face in our new roles. We hadn't known that until after we accepted the positions. We both pointed out that on top of the fact we were still both nursing, neither of us fit into our "normal clothes" yet that close after labour and delivery. Both of us refused to wear our ugly old maternity clothes even one moment longer. Everyone in the group was house poor, just like we were, and empathised with our plight. Between the moms on that incoming parent council they went through their own closets and we were properly decked out for our Saturday of higher education with bits and pieces from the whole of the group on display. Her new baby had a dislocated hip due to the labour she had endured, so she was even sorer than I was when it came to sitting still for a whole day at one time. I can't be certain, but I think we both brought pillows to sit on because we had to be realistic about our ability to last through the lectures without them. Most moms of pre-schoolers rarely sit down for more than half an hour at best and that is only when something like nursing is necessary. By the time I had six babies, I could even do that standing or walking about the house trying to keep tabs on the older siblings. The young woman who just died was a beautiful, feminine little girl full of giggles. Very social, with a lot of friends. I remember her as being both artistic and musical. The last time I recall seeing her was at grade nine graduation. After that number two son and she attended different high schools. She was a beautiful youg teen then and the obituary photo showed an even lovelier face now. There doesn't even seem to be a reason to ask "What happened?". In the end she is still dead and her parents and sister's world will never be the same. How trite, but it is all I can think of to say.

Other bits in the news were interesting today. Apparently mail theft is not isolated to my mailbox. This bust in Ontario found mail stolen from 2004 on, in a postal worker's home. Doesn't solve my mystery, but at least I don't feel quite as isolated now. One thing that was delivered yesterday was one of those scratch and win coupons from one of the theater complexes. Mine was a free admission for one adult as long as the coupon is used by April 21. I started checking out some of the trailers to see if there was anything in particular I wanted to go see. "Take the Lead" was the one that stood out for me being, of course, a movie about dancing. Mix up hip hop and ballroom moves in a high school setting. Based on a true story I guess. What I liked too, was seeing Antonio Banderas as the teacher. He looked the part and he danced with cat-like grace - a tiger or jaguar was what came to mind. I like cats, as you know. Synchronistically this ad for a bird/environmental movie also based on a true story that was told in a Newberry prize winning book - Hoot arrived in my email. Apparently Jimmy Buffet is fond of more endangered species than those parrot-heads. He produced and provided the music for this film. It doesn't come out until May though. I finally decided to give that coupon to my youngest so he can take his new girl out to another movie. He found out on his first date that girlfriends are expensive. Uh huh. The other reason is that now that I actually have got some energy back I need to concentrate on getting back on track with my plans from before I got sick. There is the house to deal with, resumes to send out, friendships to resume, and exercises to be done. That one worker who called yesterday - that senior citizen with all her get up and go - challenged me to go back to swimming again. I haven't put on a bathing suit since my last pregnancy. I swore I wouldn't be out in public in one until I had some sort of figure back. That happened, but then the boys' dad left and I didn't have the time, heart or money for that kind of activity. Maybe if I can stick with my yoga and the new pulley system exercises I just started - I want to go sleeveless this summer too - I can feel confident enough to go back into a pool again. I used to love swimming once upon a time. Maybe by the fall. Anyway time for bed now or I won't have the energy to keep up on my "new beginnings" eclipse resolutions will I.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats