Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:10 - 22.03.06
prayers and promises
It's late. I got tied up with yoga, zils, cats and correspondence you see. The cats still love the zils - they think we are worshipping them don't you know. The correspondence was with the one friend who was paralyzed by an infection just before Christmas. She sounds much better emotionally this time. That was really worrying me you see. When I worked in the rehab department at the one hospital we often would have people come in for treatment with nearly identical medical profiles and very similar ages, yet one would get better and move on with their lives while the other one would linger and either stay the same or get worse. No difference in treatment or therapist to account for it either. What made the difference in their recovery was their own emotional and psychological state. That isn't meant to be a criticism of those who heal more slowly, because that is a physiological and metabolic function. However, what I am talking about is the rate of recovery from a single injury like a broken leg or an amputation, for example. People who had goals and interests beyond their injury and who refused to see themselves as only their sickness, no matter what feedback they got from outside their own mind, always fared better. Physically my friend sounds as though she is improving too.

I was telling her tales of my cats and how they help me with the yoga exercises. For example, when I started exercising with my yoga tape again, I didn't really think I'd be able to do much of anything. I promised myself that I would just try to get in the same position at first - lying down, sitting or standing and pretend I was doing the poses. I love the corpse pose since all you have to do is lie on your back and close your eyes - I can do that one. The cats think that pose is wonderful since it means they can crawl all over "mom" as I am trying to "be still". At least I don't fall asleep that way. Anyway, the cats like "cat" pose, of course, and they do a much better version of "dog" pose than I do - traitors. When I get into the next position - downward facing dog - which is dog pose only not kneeling but in a traingle made with your feet and hands - there is always at least one cat who will jump on my hip, just to make certain I am properly balanced of course. Tree pose is even worse, since you stand on one foot, because they think it's time to play ring around the rosy - with me as the rosy of course. I've learned to prop the other foot on a chair so I don't fall down and squish one of them. I swear cats can laugh.

There was a fair amount of interesting information in my e-newsletters today. "It's Only Words" sang the Bee Gees but words do matter when it comes to cross cultural sensibilities. Apparently Canadian censors are more stodgy than their British counterparts. Who'd a thunk. I think between the Commonwealth games and Cyclone (hurricane to you) Larry the Aussies have a lot more to worry about. The other use of words and their power was in this article sent to me by an e-friend. Doesn't matter what the faith whenever someone says that the divine told them that they have carte blanche to harm others in that divinity's name one can be fairly certain that the person doing the harm has no connection or understanding of what that divinity is all about. After all the person they are harming was created by the same impulse weren't they. This Muslim woman has incredible courage to say so out loud, but it is reasonable to fear for her safety as a result. Or maybe not - maybe she will be that one lone voice that finally gets through somehow. Maybe. Miracles do happen - don't they?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats