Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:08 - 20.03.06
cats and mice
The cats have been baiting me for a couple of weeks now. Every time I get up after sleeping they will, each in turn, come up and start doing their own version of a yoga routine. Of course their cat pose is flawless, but even better is their "downward facing dog". That is just wrong. I had intended to return to a regular regime of yoga after the election, but the bout of pneumonia or whatever definitely put a crimp in that. Finally pulled out my Erich Schiffman tape today and did my first Iyengar routine in a long time. I started coughing almost immediately, but the ujjayi breathing helped control that. I found that other than the exercises using the rhomboids that I did alright. My balance was actually much better than when last I tried it. Seems the damage done to the hip muscles about three years ago when I fell has actually healed finally. Working with that tape just automatically puts me in a "zone".

Funny thing was when I went to bed last night I automatically started going through a chi gong exercise that opens each chakra in turn with chanting of different mantras. I had learned that process about a decade or more ago when I took a workshop with Dr Aung and Dr Rickhi. It seemed to be triggered by the exercises I tried one the amygdala/Neil Slade website. As I was working through the tape today, that same chi gong exercise started happening in synch with the asanas. No thought or intention formed about that - it just was an automatic response. Hmmmmm.

A lot of talk back and forth the past couple of days with family and friends. Rebuilding connections I guess. A lot of dreamwork too. Those cats kept waking me up though, when I was in the middle of some very happy dreams. All I can recall at this point is putting up wallpaper though. They were also very involved in the yoga poses - at least the males that is. Mr Boots was acting like the captain of the ship while I was in "Bow" pose. He stepped right into the middle of my back and was posing for the girls watching roundabout. Trust a male. The females were much more respectful, just watching carefully for errors in technique as I worked through the asanas. Felt really good but I won't know how much damage was done until tomorrow when I try to get out of bed. I did find I had a surge of energy right after so I badgered number six son and we got some work done that I have been trying to get out of the way ever since the end of the election. The cats hated it since it meant washing off the scent for their nicely marked territories as part of the exercise. Walls are next I think.

We watched "Willow" tonight since Val Kilmer's work seems to be another theme lately. Not certain what to make of that. It hadn't really been intentional, but there were two cars sitting one in front of our home and one directly across the street their lights on and their motors running for what seemed like a long time. Decided that maybe waiting til they left was a good idea. It wasn't until after the movie that they actually drove away. No one seemed to be doing anything. It just seemed odd. Maybe they were waiting for one of the neighbours to show up. No one did though. Just odd. Anyway time for bed now. Maybe those cats will be more polite tonight - no hunting for the mice they seem to think are under my comforter. Lucky it's thick enough that their claws don't get stcuk in my legs and feet - the real "mice". Dumb cats.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats