Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:51 - 18.03.06
ups and downs
The big event of the day was going to visit my newest grand-daughter. Of course she is absolutely beautiful. How could she not be? Long dark hair, limpid eyes - hard to guess a colour yet. Over 7 lbs in weight but long and slim. Very calm personality. Even when it was obvious that she was hungry, she didn't fuss a bit. Just waited calmly until a bottle was produced. My daughter-in-law is not comfortable nursing in front of other people and I can relate very well to that. I got to feed her as a result and she bolted back that milk within minutes. The only thing she obviously didn't care for was being cold or unswaddled, which makes perfect sense. She was just a day out of the womb after all. My son had captured her birth on his digital camera. It was apparent she was crying vigorously when she emerged, so her health and reflexes all seem to be lining up nicely. She had her first assessment done while I was there and everything checked out as normal in those tests too. I was actually more concerned about my daughter-in-law because of the caesarean, but she showed me her stitches/staples and it appears that the staff took their time and did a good job on those as well. She was obviously still quite uncomfortable but in much better shape than I expected. It is obvious that little girl already has her daddy wrapped around her little finger and we'll make certain to keep it that way - right? It felt really good to be able to just cuddle a baby again. I love babies, as you've probably guessed, dear diary. Balanced out bad memories that were evoked when I saw the surgical suite as I walked on to the floor.

When I got home I did some more phoning to people who wanted me to update them. Got a sad email from one of the other Returning Officers in the city. One of the Returning Officers who had quit before this last election because of the frustration and abuse she was receiving from Head Office died a couple of days ago. Memorial this weekend. Can't help but wonder how much the stress they put on her added to her demise. Maybe some or maybe none at all, but either way that is no way to treat another human being.

In the e-news a lot to make one ponder. I hadn't thought about this factor when the melting of the polar icecaps and permafrost was being discussed the past few months but it makes sense and also gives some hope that a decisive plan of attack can be used to turn the damage back. This action might be one of the best alternatives in helping reduce the ozone problem. Wonder if someone in Ontario would adopt me for renovations purposes - either that maybe the federal government will be blinded by it's brilliance and implement it Canada wide, eh? This essay about the SXSW shindig on in Austin from a Canadian perspective was interesting given the echo in the political scene here in Alberta. Hmmmmmmmmmm. At least movies and public speaking about the concerns are allowed there. Here it is a more risky propostion. The one institution that has tried to speak out for all the voices smothered here has finally been able to set up operations in a church in Calgary. In the past that church has provided sanctuary for other groups that were deemed "radical" in the past - you know the ones that try to stop torture and acts of war. Whatever. This one about ethics and the medical profession also left me feeling just a bit militant - especailly as it ties in to provincial involvement in health care planning. There have several attempts to put in place whistleblower protection for both government and enforcement employees, but it is odd who tends to quash that when it reaches a certain level. What have they got to hide?

On a more personal note, these two stories are ones that make me worry about activities in my own community. I have already had a couple of go-rounds with the landlord on the one side of the property over the trees and bushes I planted inside my property line 26 years ago. Since the new fence now blocks access to me from the back of the home I am afraid he will try this tactic again. Last time he ordered his tenants to chop down the hedge between the two properties it was necessary to call the police to intervene. It wasn't until he understood that I would proceed with vandalism charges that he stopped. Muttered something about "uppity women". Got that right brother. This story made me wonder again about the tampering with my cellphone that went on in the workplace last year. The bills that I was made to pay would only have been possible if someone was actually doing this or if someone was sitting on that phone 24/7 dialling people and talking all the time. I can attest that that was not happening since the offending cell phone was left sitting in or on my desk most of the time and was plugged in to the charger at night. Then there was this one about gang activity that left me wondering ..... Paranoia. Watched Men With Brooms as an antidote - I don't recall that much sex in it last time - must have been really tuned out I guess. Think I'll go and dream about cuddling babies now. The real world is closing in too tight right now. Good Night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats