Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:09 - 11.03.06
Full moon memories
My youngest and I walked for about an hour tonight. There was some kind of warning about "dressing warm" on the news as we left the house but it wasn't necessary. No wind meant the air temperature was comfortable. I went to my sun dance tree first and removed some of the leaf buds. This is an old aboriginal herbal remedy for colds. One tosses the buds in a pot of boiling water with sage, thyme and honey until it makes a syrup. Works well and seems to protect me from pollen allergies that come with the spring. One of the old bad neighbours drove up just as we were wandering off so I went and made a point of locking the deadbolt for our house first. Seemed secure enough when I pulled on it to be certain it caught.

My youngest was reminiscing about the first time I had taken him for a walk on the route we chose. He thinks it was when he was about 8 but I thought it was closer to 12. He was becoming a house potato and I wanted to be certain he was getting some exercise during the day. It also meant we had talk time and I got some stress release after the end of the work day too. When I first introduced the idea and actually dragged him out with me the whining was continuous. "I'm tired", "why can't we take a car" (car what car?), and the classic "are we there yet". It wasn't as though we were going miles either. Maybe a mile tops the first few times with longer routes thrown in on days where he was less resistant. I think at the time he was as tall as the top of my shoulder and now the reverse is true. He was commenting tonight on how easy he found the route now all these years later. Well yes persistence pays off. That and a buddy of his who is one of those people who seems to be plugged in to an invisible electric outlet all the time. In order to spend time with his buddy he either had to move around a lot or get left behind.

I was the one having trouble keeping up this time but not because I have the shorter legs now. You see, remember that story about a year ago when I mentioned I realized I had lost weight when I nearly lost my unmentionables while trying to walk down the train platform early one frosty morning on the way to work? Well it happened again. Walking along clutching at various lingerie does not facilitate a brisk pace while walking. Stopped at the main crossroad in the community and were treated to a blast of music from one large white van. Odd thing? It sounded like the occupants ere groovin to some old Doug Kershaw tune. I like his music but one is more likely to hear Bhangra, Bacchata or heavy metal in this community. We did try to stop at the one restaurant for a bowl of soup since neither of us had eaten yet, but there was a sign on the door that stated that "technical difficulties" with kitchen equipment was causing unusually long delays for service. A peek through the windows showed that most of the tables were packed anyway so we decided to give that a pass. Popped into the drug store nearby to pick up some vitamin C and another inhaler while my youngest went and grabbed subs for supper next door. Well at least they're healthy mostly. Because I am allergic to wheat I just eat the innards so it's something like having a salad in a bread bowl. Arrived back home and found the door unlocked. I was certain that I had checked the catch thoroughly when we left but maybe I was dreaming.

I dreamt a lot the past couple of days. Number two son's partner is past due to give birth now. I dreamt she had Dorothy's ruby slippers on and she kept repeating "I want to go home". Guess she would like to get back to "normal". That might happen size wise - she is very petite - but I don't think normal is going to be a feature of her and my son's life again any time soon. Babies have a way of redifining that all by their own sweet selves. The other dreams have involved my ex and what appears to be a neighbour not unlike the ones I have now. The difference is that the dreams are set when we were much younger and we seem to be living on a much bigger property. In addition the neighbour, although just as mean and nasty as the current ones is much older. My ex was quite handsome inhis younger days, thick curly dark hair and piercing blue eyes. He was the star player on his high school football team and looked like a Michelangelo statue in physique. No one could figure out how we landed up together. Me neither. Other than swimming and gymnastics - which I competed and judged - I had no interest in sports. I had no idea who he was when I met him through an introduction by a girlfriend and said so. That seemed to really take him aback. Anyway that was how he appeared in the dream and it appeared he and this older neighbour were in cahoots about some sort of illegal scheme. It seemed that one morning after we had built a very nice big fence - not unlike the one I have now - I went outside to hang up the cclean laundry. There seemed to be two or three of my sons about playing in the yard. I realized all of a sudden that the whole of the back of the fence and the side we shared with the bad neighbour had disappeared. I could see the ocean not far away and had to send the boys back in the house - that was the reason for the fence you see, they had nearly drowned themselves trying to be surfer guys. I could see the boys Dad and the neighbour talking and I came over to ask them if they knew what happened to the fence. It was obvious that they did know but weren't willing to tell me. The neighbour had a new shed noww sitting on the property line all locked up. He said he and the boys' Dad were sharing the space for their "tools" and had sold the fence to raise the funds. They wouldn't tell me who had bought the fence but I found it already rebuilt in another neighbours yard some streets away. A pretty single lady who both men had been eying for a while. I talked to her about the fence and why I needed it back. The money to buy the wood had come from my work anyway and it wasn't up to the boys Dad to sell it anyway. I was really feeling frustrated and woke up about then so I don't know what happened after that. Think I'm better off staying awake at night if that is the best dreaming I can do - don't you dear diary?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats