Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:17 - 09.03.06
Items
Interesting bits and pieces in the e-news these days. I liked this one about a bank paying its customers to use their services. How do we get one of those here? As for paying respects, this story about thanking that one gentleman from Norway for his chivalrous behaviour during the Olympic competitions was uplifting. I think he will go down in Canadian history as someone who is a great model of a true sportsman. Maybe he should be the leader of that organization, since it is obvious by his own actions, that he has the best grasp of what the Olympics are meant to be. There is a cross cultural exchange going on between other elements of the Arctic societies as well that might serve as another leadership example as well. The other northern exchange of knowledge and expertise between Canada and the US is equally as exciting and I am beginning to think that the north may become the place to be in the near future - if it doesn't melt away, that is. On an entirely different and serendipitous note there is this amusing and bemusing exchange going on between "Warriors of the internet" that also is instructive in a backhanded sense. Here I always thought chat rooms were for - umm - chatting. Apparently not.

On a more serious note were these stories about the huge effect of environmental toxins on the occurrance of cancer predicted to appear in 1 out of 2 North Americans in the near future. Look no further than the cupboards in your own home for the culprits. This story about the hidden shadow of North American services to protect the weak is only surprising in that it made it to print. I wonder if the police ever were told about this woman with respect to their investigation into the murders of several very young women lured into the sex trade. In each case that I have heard about there was very little evidence of struggle, implying it was someone they believed they could trust. Predators who seek power over those who can't defend themselves choose social environments where their authority is legislated and the activities hidden under the gag orders known as confidentiality regulations. Even if a victim comes forward they are shut down by the courts or the system within which the predator lurks. This story out of Seattle showed a much more progressive approach to dealing with people who abuse their work positions or academic credentials by doctoring their resumes. I hope that withholding information about serious intentional ethical misbehaviour, such as cited in the previous article, will also be part of the bill.

My youngest and I went out walking yesterday. Not really that far, but enough to get errands done. The video store to drop off the latest movies and then to the grocery store. One of the things that seems to be becoming a regular purchase is toys for the cats. Now this really isn't necessary. Those cats can do marvelous things with a piece of string. That notwithstanding there ended up being a packet of toy mice - one for each feline - in my basket when it came checkout time. Seems orange is their favorite colour since all five of them will fight over that one mouse while the others lie untouched. Hmmmmmmmmmm. Wonder how those got there. Still, I suppose it is a better choice than those cinnamon buns that smelled so enchanting. Much less fattening for both us and the cats.

Call backs today from both the post office and city hall. The post office was just declaring that they were certain they had not lost any of our mail and to contact the police. Now much as I respect and admire the police, I really am beginning to feel uncomfortable with the amount of time I am asking for their attention. I was raised on the principle of looking after one's self and that was very plainly the message I got from just about everywhere when I found myself on my own with the boys to raise. I know "let it go". Easier said than done. Then one reads in the paper about more identity theft rings being uncovered and it is difficult to know what to do. Think I'll think about that tomorrow. Time to go play ribbons on the stairs with those spoiled felines of mine. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats