Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:10 - 07.03.06
oz
It feels as though someone has taken a hammer to the one side of my face. I went to bed feeling fine Friday night, but have woken up thoroughly fevered and congested since. The good news is that I'm slowly working through the virus. The bad news is that it is taking so long for the body to fight it off. One of my sons was of the opinion that I should go and get antibiotics immediately. In a way he's right. With less than stellar lungs, it is a bit risky to leave it. However, I have had to rely on those for too long to keep me at a workplace, despite the immune system's obvious need to rebuild it's inherent strength. That means each time I face a new virus the weaker my defenses are. Since I chose to give myself this month off to complete tasks started before the election broke loose, I guess I should be gracious to myself and allow the self care to also be part of that. Instead of seeing it as "wasting time" - the corporate mantra, I should see it as using the opportunity to turn around a bad situation - right?

For the past while I have noted in your electrons that some of my mail has been arriving much later that the stamped processing date or appears to have been opened. I haven't noted the missing mail, because it is very hard to verify what you don't know what you are supposed to receive - if that makes any sense at all. However, I have not received credit card bills that should have been sent and nor has my youngest. We have different credit companies so one can't even say it is a company problem. We have verification now that at least four pieces of recorded mail have been sent out over the past two months and they have not arrived at my home. Called Canada Post about it with all the details going back to last fall. They are looking in to it. Called the credit card company too. Charges on my credit bill that was re-sent after I called to find out why I hadn't received one, from a company with which I have no business transactions. They will look into that for me too. Called city hall's planning department today too. I still want the blueprints for this house so I can renovate without messing around with weight bearing walls or any such thing. When I was checking their zoning map for my street I noticed two problems. First it appears that the block number on my land title is wrong, either on their records, or that the map on the city website is wrong. In either case I need verification, because the zoning is also "wrong". Either the mapper really messed up or someone down at city hall is going to be most unhappy when I call to ask why that was not posted as require by law. Zoning changes have to be announced and hearings of objections must be slated. It isn't just something that can be changed with a stroke of a pen. I do have the old zoning maps in my files somewhere if I have to drag them out, but I'm hoping that won't be necessary. All Mercury retrograde things I guess.

My youngest and I watched a Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy tonight. It was very entertaining although in an absurd kind of way. One thing about movies is that it helps not to go into a production with any expectations. I don't recall reading the novel so I don't have anything to measure it against. However, since watching it, I imagine I'll try the paper version now to see how the two compare. The movie version could be viewed as just plain entertainment value on it's own merit, or those hints and subtle intimations of things quantum could be apprehended if one wished to make the story multi-dimensional too. Interesting anyway. Watching the movie was my excuse not to exercise today too. Breathing is still rather laboured and although I can still manage 20 minutes on the stairs it means I spend the rest of the day resting. This way I got some work done and had some fun too. That's allowed isn't it? Besides that, less fatigue means greater recall of dream sequences it seems. The ones I had tonight were quite poignant. I'm not going to share them, but at least I know that some subconscious material is starting to bubble through so I can deal with it head on. That's a good thing too and also a good use of Mercury retrograde time. Time is all we have, or not.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats