Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:24 - 05.03.06
family
Today was about family. Talked with number three son and agreed to try and get together on his next days off. Worker shortages in the city mean my guys are getting asked to work much longer hours than is normal - the 40 hour work week. That is great in terms of income but means there is no personal time at all. The business he works for has finally been able to hire, train and retain some more people so he thinks he might get more than a day off per week now. With only one day off he either slept or did his errands you see.

Number four son dropped by with his partner. Same sort of issues. Number four son dropped the second job he was carrying just before Christmas, because he just couldn't handle any more 16 hour days five or six days at a stretch. His partner has switched companies and is very happy with her new work conditions. Much better pay and a company that works hard to keep their good workers - like her. They had great news for me too. A new grandbaby due in the fall. I was teasing them because twins run in both sides of the family. You never know how that might play out. She comes from a big family too and her side already has a lot of grandchildren playing about. One sister has six children already. See I'm not as crazy as some people make me out to be. It sounds as though a lot of her mom's family is still in the US. She is an American citizen and all the children have the paper work that allow them to live in either country so that they can go to post secondary school wherever they find works best for them. Her Dad's family lives in the same communities where my Dad grew up. Given that we feel as though we are related to most of southern Alberta and given that their family feels the same I suggested that maybe we were already related in some way. Brought out the Mosquito Creek Roundup to check but there is no evidence of that. Went on line and checked out that avenue of inquiry as well. Some of the geneaology posted was pretty interesting but no intermarriage that was easily detectable though.

Talked with my Dad and one sister as well. Just exchanging news that is useful to each side of the receiver. My sister's oldest son is engaged as well and there are some "issues" to work out between the bride and groom's side. The issue is faith and I'm sorry when I hear it being used as a weapon to keep the young people apart. One of those ones where everyone in the family but the one father accept the circumstances yet he is being a jerk. Guess when your only sense of control or power is over people who have no defense against you, you fight pretty hard not to lose it. The sad part is if one has to fight to maintain control then one never really had any power anyway. At some point in time that control issue is going to cost that man most of what he believes he cares for and he will likely never admit it was his own doing either. Glad I don't have to deal with that.

Number one son and I talked this week too. He is also down to one job only but needs some extra cash so he is going to help me with the work I need to do to finish gutting this house. Thats a good thing because I had no idea how I was going to manage it myself. Checked the hours for the landfill so that I can rent a truck so he and my youngest can load it up and move it out. Tlaked with my brotherin law about more building materials and also about redoing the way my home is heated. Still mulling over the different environmentally friendly options but they also have to becost effective. I love that idea of steam heat married to solar heating but I don't think I can swing the initial costs. I wonder if there are any other options that might be doable for me. Don't know but we'll see in the next week or so.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats