Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:12 - 18.02.06
Figaro
Today was quiet except for the phone calls from the two largest political parties in the riding - well, at least their representatives called. There is a deadline looming next week for submissions of some of their financial documents. Either they have them all in to me on a certain date or they lose their $1000 deposit for the privilege of running. Turns out their reps aren't either of them going to be in town next week so all of a sudden it was a rush to get it all done, right now if you please. The other thing I worked on was re-writing my resume. The one that lists my work chronologically. Demonstrates development and integration of skills. Also demonstrates how current or otherwise those skill sets are. What you see is what you get.

The one candidate's rep was supposed to have met me tonight at a coffee shop one community over. I had almost forgotten that this was my night to go out to the theater with one of the moms I've volunteered with for years. We left early enough so I could get my meeting with him in too. We popped by the coffee stop on the way to the play just to find a closed sign on the door and it all dark and locked up. He called me on my cell phone just as we were pulling into the university - he'd forgotten and wanted to arrange for another time tonight. Think not.

My friend's daughter was in the University of Calgary's Drama production of the Marriage of Figaro by Pierre-Augustin De Beaumarchais. The date of it's publication was 1784, but this comedy was surprisingly topical. There was even part of a monologue by Figaro in Act 5 where he talks about having written a play that caused him to be ostracized and hounded because it offended the Muslims of the times. La plus ca change, la plus ca meme. (the more things change, the more they stay the same)I checked out the passage on the web when I returned home and sure enough the soliloquay in the play was exactly what was written 222 years ago. I was amazed at the quality of the acting - they had the audience in stitches for a good part of the time. My friend's daughter has a beautiful singing voice. The songs were from the era that it was written in and that made her skill even more apparent. The reason she was taking drama as an option was because she couldn't fit the choral music classes into her schedule. I have a feeling that was meant to happen. One of her co-actor's invited her to join the Shakespearean touring company that operates out of Calgary for the summer. The divne works in mysterious ways, you know.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats