Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:11 - 15.02.06
time out
Warm air rises and cooler air rushes in to take its place. Convective currents. Yesterday the warm air rose and an arctic blast rushed in for the first time this year. I had decided I wanted to go to a real theater to see a movie. I think it's becoming one of those "later in life" addictions. Not harmful, but fairly expensive. The same cost as dinner out almost, but less calories. I asked my youngest if he wanted to join me. So it was we wandered out of our home at mid-day to catch the bus. Now the day before had been so balmy that I had wondered if I even needed my spring coat. I thought by changing to my winter coat for this journey I would be very warm indeed. Not so. First of all I forgot the bus rule. Always be at least five minutes early at a stop. There are about half a dozen busses that run past the one stop. They all arrive within a few minutes of each other - then nothing for at least another 20 minutes. That's during peak hours. As you might have guessed, dear diary, we watched the last of the busses speed through the intersection five full minutes earlier than its schedule time on the internet indicated. We had to wait 20 minutes for the next bus. It made no sense to walk all the way back home, just to turn around and have to walk back to that stop again with the risk of falling a-foul the same problem again. The difficulty was that that blast of artic air was the "take your breath away" and crush the lungs in doing so. Forgot my inhaler too. Once the bus dropped us off at the train station there was the climb up the stairs into those winds with another long walk from the next station to the theater complex. Bleagh.

Arrived and found our seats about 15 minutes before curtain time. Some of the trailers for future movies were pretty interesting. May 19 was one release date I fixed in my mind, but not the title of the movie. How dumb is that. Next up a Bruce Willis production, then what looks like a remake of the Poseidon Adventure. Funny thing, but I felt as though I was on a ship going down under a monster wave as I watched it and it made me sick. Don't think I'll be going to see that one. "There's Got to Be a Morning After" - theme song from the original movie, remember. Up last, was the trailer for the Da Vinci Code. The introduction was fascinating and with Ron Howard directing it I suspect it will be worth the time and money to see it. July for that one. The movie we came to see? The new Harrison Ford film, Firewall. It was one of those expectations and reality don't work well moments for me. Nothing wrong with the movie, if one likes action adventure films where the action is all there is. I had been thinking more of some character and plot development and some insights into industrial espionage. Not there. I kept waiting until the end for it but it just wasn't part of the package. I guess I can just wait until the next Indiana Jones movie for fare more to my liking.

We popped in to the hardware store after the movie and picked up a couple of heaters and some plants - dracena - dragon or ribbon plants. Dragons and ribbons seem to be in my dreams a lot right now, so maybe there is something symbolic about a physical representation being brought into the house. With most of the cat family adopted out, I am hoping I can re-establish my little in house terrarium. Our furnace still isn't working so the heaters are just to get us through the next few cold days. Warming trend on the weekend don't you know.

Still working on things election too. More calls about people not being paid who should have been. Odd misses, but then again with so much happening in a short period of time there are bound to be oversights. Set those right, talked to a candidate's rep and some of my office staff about various issues. Got an email from the head of training and evaluation. They will use the initial process they had in place last election and then build around that for me. I emailed back thanking him for being flexible. I addressed the issue of communication styles and communication problems that are systemic to the process in preparing for elections. Boils down to too many cooks trying to stir the broth. When I went through my emails and diary to fill out my timesheet, I identified at least a dozen departments and about twice as many individuals all claiming precedence where my time and efforts should go. All deadlines on the same day though, with no time build in for all the other people's work requirements to be met. Even someone with no other job would find it a challenge. For those of us who are generally working full time that becomes a major issue. His response was pleasant enough when I made my comments. I let him know too that I had mailed the package of emails and diarization on the preevent work - edited for just election type things - to him at the beginning of the week. It will be interesting and a measure of what the real intent is with respect to working with field staff to hear what he has to say after he reads it.

Other than that it has been a quiet couple of days. A visit from number one son and several phone calls from the grandbabies. Mostly the stories are about school and daily activities. Bright little stars they are. I bought some of the product my daughter in law is trying to direct market and that was the reason my son dropped by - just to pick up the cheque and drop off the goods. I finally found a pair of pull through earrings in one of her catalogues. I had my ears pierced a long time ago, but I find the only ones I can wear are that type - the rest being way too heavy for me. I don't like feeling that kind of stress on my earlobes. I haven't had a pair like that even though I'd looked all over the place, since that robbery in my home five years ago. These don't have pearls like my old ones, but they'll do for now I guess. My youngest was feeling pretty proud of himself too. Got his driver's permit in the mail, so another rite of passage has been acheived. Now if he would just do his homework I'd be happy.

Anyway time to go pay bills and batten down the house for a very cold night. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats